Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Aunsby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Aunsby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 614
1861 R.G. 9 / 2343
1871 R.G. 10 / 3350
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aunsby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • Aunsby's Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Thomas of Canterbury (St. Thomas a Beckett).
  • The church was thoroughly restored in 1861 and the tower and spire taken apart and rebuilt with the same stones.
  • The church seats about 140.
  • The Lincolnshire Archives has "Aunsby Parish: papers, including records relating to rebuilding of the rectory, 1856, and restoration of the parish church, 1860-63 (Acc no 94/065.00)".
  • A photograph of Saint Thomas Church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Robert DANYLEC has a photograph of St. Thomas of Canterbury's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2005.
  • Here is a photograph St. Thomas a Beckett's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Thomas Church

Church Records

  • Aunsby's parish registers exist from 1681, but Bishop's Transcripts exist from 1561.
  • We have the beginning of a parish register extract in a text file. Your additions and corrections are welcomed.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1686 to 1812 and Marriages from 1686 to 1809.
  • George E. COKAYNE's book, "Lincolnshire Parish Registers and Monumental Inscriptions, ca. 1500-1837", vol. 2, has some parish register entries back to 1544. The book has been microfilmed as is available through Family History Centres.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford Sub-District of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Aunsby is a both a parish and a village of the same name which lies about 9 miles east of Grantham and 5 miles south of Sleaford. Dembleby parish lies to the south and Aswarby parish to the east. The parish covers about 1,200 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village lies about a mile west of the A15 trunk road and about a mile north off of the A52 where the two roads cross south of Sleaford.
  • Pamela FARRINGTON-GRANTLEY has a photograph of the village sign on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2007.
  • Check out our touring page for resources.
You can see pictures of Aunsby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Aunsby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Aunsby to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF045388 (Lat/Lon: 52.936412, -0.446564), Aunsby which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from the Old Scandinavian Authunn+by or "farmstead of a man called Authunn," and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Ounesbi and in 1281 as Outhenby.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished and used to create the new Aswarby and Swarby Civil Parish and the new Aunsby and Dembleby Civil Parish.
  • You may contact the local Aunsby and Dembleby Parish Council regarding civic or politcal issues, but they are NOT staffed to help with family history lookups.
  • For today's district governance, contact the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 84
1841 117
1871 139
1881 138
1891 129
1901 104
1911 123
1921 123

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1860. It could hold 43 children.
  • It appears the school was closed and sold around 1958.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.