- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
||R.G. 9 / 2343
||R.G. 10 / 3350
||R.G. 12 / 2555
- Aunsby's Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Thomas of Canterbury (St. Thomas a Beckett).
- The church was thoroughly rstored in 1861.
- The church seats about 140.
- The Lincolnshire Archives has "Aunsby Parish: papers, including records relating to rebuilding of the rectory, 1856, and restoration of the parish church, 1860-63 (Acc no 94/065.00)".
- A photograph of Saint Thomas Church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
- Robert DANYLEC has a photograph of St. Thomas of Canterbury's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2005.
- Here is a photograph St. Thomas a Beckett's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
- Aunsby's parish registers exist from 1681, but Bishop's Transcripts exist from 1561.
- We have the beginning of a parish register extract in a text file. Your additions and corrections are welcomed.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1686 to 1812 and Marriages from 1686 to 1809.
- George E. Cokayne's book, "Lincolnshire Parish Registers and Monumental Inscriptions, ca. 1500-1837", vol. 2, has some parish register entries back to 1544. The book has been microfilmed as is available through Family History Centres.
- The LFHS has published several indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Sleaford Sub-District of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Aunsby is a both a parish and a village of the same name which lies about 9 miles east of Grantham and 5 miles south of Sleaford. Dembleby parish lies to the south and Aswarby parish to the east. The parish covers about 1,200 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- The village lies about a mile west of the A15 trunk road and about a mile north off of the A52 where the two roads cross south of Sleaford.
- Check out our touring page for resources.
- The national grid reference is TF 0438.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #248 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name derives from the Old Scandinavian Authunn+by or "farmstead of a man called Authunn," and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Ounesbi and in 1281 as Outhenby.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
- In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished and used to create the new Aswarby and Swarby Civil Parish and the new Aunsby and Dembleby Civil Parish.
- For today's district governance, contact the North Kesteven District Council.
- A Public Elementary School was built here in 1860. It could hold 43 children.
- It appears the school was closed and sold around 1958.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 13-January-2014 - Louis R. Mills]