We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Barholm

Archives and Libraries

  • Stamford Library
  • High Street
  • Stamford, Lincs, PE9 2BB
  • Tele: 01780 763442

Cemeteries

  • St John, King Street, Stowe, Barholm and Stowe, Church of England
  • St Martin, Barholm, Barholm and Stowe, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Barnack sub-district of the Stamford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2094
1861 R.G. 9 / 2314
1871 R.G. 10 / 3310
1891 R.G. 12 / 2554

Churches

  • St John, King Street, Stowe, Barholm and Stowe, Church of England
  • St Martin, Barholm, Barholm and Stowe, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Barholm area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Martin.
  • Much of the main structure is of Norman origin.
  • The church has a tower at the west end which was rebuilt in 1648.
  • The whole church was completely restored in 1857.
  • St. Martin's seats 130.
  • The church at Stowe, dedicated to Saint John, fell into ruin and was torn down at the end of the 18th century.
  • There is a photograph of St. Martin's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Tony ATKIN has a photograph of St. Martin's Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2011.
  • Here are three photos of St. Martin's, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Barholm St. Martin's parish church

Barholm St. Martin's parish church

Barholm St. Martin's parish church

Church Records

  • Barholm parish registers exist from 1726 but I.G.I. entries cover back to 1562. Stowe, before being amalgameted with Barholm, has parish registers from 1577.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Barnack sub-district of the Stamford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Barholm is both a village and parish 90 miles north of London, 4 miles northwest of Market Deeping and 5.5 miles northeast of Stamford, which lies about a mile north of the A16 trunk road. The parish is bounded on the south by Tallington parish and Uffington parish and on the north side by Greatford parish. The parish covers over 1,600 acres.

Stowe was a small hamlet within the present parish boundaries, about a mile east of Barholm village, but it does not appear on any modern maps the website author owns. Records indicate that Stowe was a separate parish in the past. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Barholm which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Barholm has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

  • In 1842, the chief landowners were John ULLETT, lord of the manor, Sir John TROLLOPE, Mr. A. ARDEN, and the governors of Oakham and Uppingham Schools.
  • In 1882, the chief landowners were Lord Kesteven, lord of the manor, and the governors of Oakham and Uppingham Schools and Browne's Hospital, Stamford.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF090109 (Lat/Lon: 52.684807, -0.388933), Barholm which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Barholm is from the Old English Beorg+ham, or "Homestead on a hill". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village is given as Bercaham. Stowe (often appearing as "Stow") derives from the Old English stow for "holy place" or "gathering place".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
  • The name is pronounced by some of the locals as "Barrum".

Politics and Government

  • Barholm was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • Stowe (note the ancient spelling) was also an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • In April, 1931, Barholm was abolished as a separate Civil Parish and reincorporated as Barholm and Stow Civil parish. During this process it lost some bordering parcels of land to other Civil Parishes.
  • In April, 1931, Stowe was abolished as a separate Civil Parish and reincorporated as Barholm and Stow Civil parish. It too lost some bordering parcels of land to other Civil Parishes.
  • Both parishes were in the ancient Ness Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • The citizens of this parish have elected to forgo a formal Parish Council, but they do hold periodic Parish Meetings to discuss civic and political issues.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Stamford Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.

Population

Year Barholm Stowe
1801 145 24
1831 155 25
1841 165 11
1871 188 29
1881 179 22
1891 188 21
1911 151 25

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school in Greatford, where the school was enlarged by the parishioners of Barholm after their refusal to build a school in this parish.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.