Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Barlings

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • The Barlings Cemetery is located just south of the hamlet of Langworth on the northeast side of Barlings Lane. It has a distinctive lych gate and low brick wall around the front.


  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 627
1851 H.O. 107 / 2105
1861 R.G. 9 / 2363
1871 R.G. 10 / 3375
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Barlings area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There was once a Premonstratensian Abbey here, called Barlings Abbey, founded in 1154 by Ralph and Richard de HAYE and dedicated to Saint Mary. The Abbey had its own church, some 300 feet in length. The great tower fell down around 1757.
  • The remaining fragment of Barlings Abbey is a Grade II listed structure with British Heritage.
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Edward.
  • The church is of apparent Norman origin, built of stone in the 11th century.
  • The whole church was taken down and rebuilt in 1875-6.
  • The church seats only 120.
  • The church is a Grade II listed structure with British Heritage.
  • The church is described on the Sudbrooke Parish website.
  • There is a photograph of St. Edward's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a nice photograph of St. Edward's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2013.
  • Here are two photos of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Barlings St. Edward parish church

Barlings St. Edward parish church

  • The Anglican church at Langworth is dedicated to Saint Hugh.
  • The church at Langworth is in the Art Nouveau style.
  • The church at Langworth was rebuilt in 1960-62.
  • J. HANNAN-BRIGGS provides his photograph of Saint Hugh's on Geo-graph, taken in 2011.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Hugh's Church at Langworth, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Langworth St. Hugh's church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registry dates from 1626, but no marriages were registered between 1775 and 1831.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1626 to 1812 and Marriages from 1626 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Langworth hamlet was home to a Mission Church of St. Hugh (see St. Edward for records) and a Wesleyan Methodist chapel, erected in 1857, as well as a small Free Methodist chapel. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This parish is 6 miles northeast of Lincoln parish and city and Reepham parish, and due south of Stainton parish. The parish covers just over 1,630 acres. Langworth is a hamlet in the parish and now exceeds Barlings village in size.

The village of Barlings does not appear on the web page author's Ordnance Survey Motoring Atlas. But the village sits along the Barlings River. Langworth sits astride the Langworth River. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the old Roman Road to Wragby (now the A158 trunk road) northeast out of Lincoln until you get to Langworth.
  • Check for bus service from the Lincolnshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Barlings which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Barlings has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The railway came to the parish in the mid-nineteenth century with a station at the west end of Langworth hamlet. It was for the Lincoln, Cleethorpes and Hull branch of the Great Central Railway.
  • The George Inn in Langworth, on the main road, is still open. In 1913, the publican was George BETT. In 1882, John PAULGER had the job.


  • Ian PATERSON provides his photograph of Barlings Hall on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF075747 (Lat/Lon: 53.258406, -0.389944), Barlings which are provided by:

Military Records

There is one Commonwealth War Grave in Barlings Cemetery (Langworth) from World War II:

  1. William Edward Holliday BARKER, airman 2nd, RAF Vol. Rsrv., age 20, died 12 Aug. 1940. Son of William Holliday BARKER and Louisa Alice BARKER, of Langworth.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish of Lincolnshire and became a Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • This parish has joined with several local parishes to form a Joint Parish Council. You may contact them regarding civic or political matters, but they are NOT staffed to help you with family history searches.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Reform Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 116
1811 140
1841 352
1851 433
1871 468
1881 469
1891 419
1911 360


  • The children of this parish attended school in Stainton by Langworth.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.