Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Barnetby le Wold

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Barnetby le Wold

Bibliography

  • In the August 2000 Journal of the LFHS there's a review of a book "All Things Forgotten ....Village Life in Barnetby in the 16th & 17th Centuries." The book was written by Neil R. WILKYN and students at the Barnetby W.E.A. 190 pages, A4 size, ISBN 09536-13003, £9.99 (plus £2.95 p.& p.), available from the author at 48 Railway Street, Barnetby-le-Wold, North Lincs. DN38 6DQ.

Cemeteries

  • St Mary, Off Queens Road, Church Hill, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Brigg sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • The Lincolnshire Archives have an 1821 census return (surnames only) for Barnetby.
  • We have an index of folio numbers and surnames from the 1901 Census in a text file for your use. Your corrections and additions are welcome.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 627
1851 H.O. 107 / 2116
1861 R.G. 9 / 2399
1871 R.G. 10 / 3430
1891 R.G. 12 / 2626

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Barnetby le Wold area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • After the Norman Conquest, a church was built on the hillside just above the village, consecrated to Saint Mary.
  • The present church is built on the site of this earlier church. The south wall was part of this earlier, Saxon church.
  • The church consists of an aisleless nave and chancel.
  • The font in St. Mary's church is said to date from the reign of King Stephen.
  • The church seats 270.
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared St. Mary's Church redundant in October, 1972.
  • There is a photograph of the Anglican parish church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Mary's, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Barnetby St. Mary church

  • The new church is dedicated to Saint Barnabas.
  • St. Barnabas Church was opened in 1927.
  • David WRIGHT has a photograph of St. Barnabas Church on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2006.
  • Here is a photograph of St. Barnabas Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Barnetby St. Barnabas church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers for St. Mary's exist from 1753, although entries in the IGI go back to 1561.
  • We have the beginnings of a Parish Register Extract in a text file for your use. Your corrections and additions are welcome.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Yarborough Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There were also chapels for Wesleyan Methodists, built in 1879, and Primitive Methodists, built in 1855 and rebuilt in 1893. The Independents also had a chapel here. For more on researching these chapel records, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Brigg sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Barnetby le Wold is a village and parish, due south of Barton upon Humber and due east of Scunthorpe, about ten miles from the Humberside International Airport. The parish covers about 2,580 acres and includes the hamlet of New Barnetby.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village is located just south of the intersection of the A15 and M180 Motorway.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Barnetby le Wold which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Barnetby le Wold has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Barnetby le Wold to another place.

History

  • Archaeologists examining a housing development site at Barnetby uncovered an ancient industrial site, thought to be Roman, dating back to the Iron Age. It was suggested that the parts of buildings uncovered indicated a grain drier and a smoke house. The remains of 14 bodies were found in shallow graves.
  • The village used to hold market day every other Tuesday.
  • The railway arrived in 1848, in the form of the Great Grimsby and Sheffield Junction Railway. A line to Scunthorpe and Keadby Junction was added in 1866, increasing railway traffic through the village.
  • The parish contained extensive malthouses in 1881 owned by a Sheffield company, Trustwell & Co.

Manors

  • In 1066, Barnetby was a royal manor, belonging to King Harold.
  • After the Norman Conquest it was given by William the Conqueror to Earl Hugh, one of the more important barons in the country.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TA059097 (Lat/Lon: 53.573212, -0.402172), Barnetby le Wold which are provided by:

Military History

  • David WRIGHT has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2006.

Military Records

The Barnetby War Memorial suffers, like many others, from errors in the names listed, Suffice to say that Roger FRANKISH has done a good job verifying the data and making corrections. His list of names can be found at the following pop-up page: Barnetby Memorial List.

You can also find Roger Frankish's details of the errors in the file: Barnetby Memorial List. This is a Microsoft Word document, about 32kb in size.

Names, Geographical

  • Bernodebi in the Domesday Book of 1086, the name derives from the Scandinavian name Beornnoth and its location at the northern edge of the Lincolnshire Wolds.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.

Politics and Government

  • Parish boundaries have changed over time. In 1881, for instance, the parish covered only 1,630 acres. In 1843 it had been 2,500 acres.
  • The parish was in the ancient Yarborough Wapentake in the Glanford district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish, perhaps erroneously, in the North Lindsey division of the county, as does the 1913 edition.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Lincolnshire Council website.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • In 1677, Michael EMERSON left the rent from 9 acres for apprenticing poor children.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1770 and again in 1812.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, this parish became part of the Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Brigg petty session hearings every other Tueasday.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 211
1831 532
1841 705
1871 773
1881 850
1891 926
1901 1,144
1911 1,552
2001 1,593

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1862 (as a National School) and an infant's school added in 1876, followed by a girls' school in 1877. The buildings could house 300 students.
  • A School board of 5 members was formed in April, 1892.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.