Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Beesby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • St Andrew, Fen Lane, Beesby in the Marsh, Church of England


  • The parish was in the Withern sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • We have an extract of a small portion of the 1901 Census which you are welcome to review or add to.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 627
1851 H.O. 107 / 2111
1861 R.G. 9 / 2379
1871 R.G. 10 / 3399
1891 R.G. 12 / 2606
1901 R.G. 13 / 3082


  • St Andrew, Fen Lane, Beesby in the Marsh, Church of England

  • Pinfold Lane, Beesby in the Marsh, Methodist (Primitive)

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Beesby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
  • St. Andrew's church was originally built in the 12th century.
  • The church was nearly completely rebuilt in 1841.
  • The church was restored in 1888-89.
  • The church seats only about 90.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2006.
  • Here are two photographs of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Beesby St. Andrew's Church

Beesby St. Andrew's Church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers date from 1561 for baptisms and burials; from 1565 for marriages.
  • The London Family History Centre has Beesby's Bishop's Transcripts for 1562 thru 1836.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Calcewaith Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Primitive Methodists had a small chapel here, built prior to 1900. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Withern sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Beesby is both a village and a parish that lies about 30 miles east of the City of Lincoln in the marshy area about a mile south of Maltby le Marsh and 3.5 miles NE of Alford on the A1104 trunk road that runs from Alford to Mablethorpe on the coast. This has always been a small, rural parish. The parish covers only 1,171 acres, much of which is converted salt marsh.

Beesby is also on the edge of the Wolds. Many of the homes built in the 18th and 19th century were Mud and Stud style buildings.

If you are planning a visit:

  • For folks on holiday, there is a caravan park west of the village.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Beesby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Beesby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • In March of 1845, Sir Charles Darwin purchased a 325 acre farm in Beesby as an investment for about £12,500. It was called, naturally enough, Beesby Farm.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF464802 (Lat/Lon: 53.298513, 0.195328), Beesby which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Beesby is of uncertain origin, most likely from the Old Scandinavian Bees+by, or "village of Bosi". It appeared in the 1086 Domesday Book as Besebi.
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the Wold division of the ancient Calceworth Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • In recent times the Civil Parish has merged with another to create the modern Civil Parish of Beesby with Saleby. The combined parish does not have a formal Parish Council, but has a Parish Meeting from time to time to deal with civic and political issues.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Louth Poorlaw Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Alford petty sessional hearings.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 131
1811 126
1831 159
1841 157
1871 159
1881 145
1891 127
1901 117
1911 126
1991 235


  • A National School was built here in 1843 and rebuilt in 1864-5 to house 50 students. Average attendance in 1911 was 12.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.