Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bicker

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bicker

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Swineshead sub-district of the Boston Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • We have an extract of a small portion of the 1891 Census. You may add your own findings by contacting the site coordinator.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 606
1851 H.O. 107 / 2099
1861 R.G. 9 / 2339
1871 R.G. 10 / 3345
1891 R.G. 12 / 2576

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bicker area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Swithin, apparently of Norman origin, although most of the current building dates from the Elizabethan period.
  • The church seats about 300.
  • There is a photograph of St. Swithin's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Geoff PICK has a photograph of St. Swithin's Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2003.
  • Here is a photograph St. Swithin's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Swithin Church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1561.
  • We have a partial parish register extract for you to search. You may add your own findings by contacting the site coordinator.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Holland West Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
  • The parish once hosted a chapel for Wesleyan Methodists and Primitie Methodists. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Primitive Methodist Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2008.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Swineshead sub-district of the Boston Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Bicker is both a village and parish less than 2 miles northeast of Donington parish on the A52 trunk road as it heads up to Boston. The parish is just over 100 miles north of London. It is bounded on the north by Swineshead parish. The Hammond Beck forms a western boundary. The area is flat fenland, about 3,770 acres, drained by many small canals.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Bicker which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bicker has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF225375 (Lat/Lon: 52.920930, -0.179363), Bicker which are provided by:

Military History

  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of theWar Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2008.

Military Records

From the Bicker War Memorial by John Emerson (The names have been sorted for your convenience). The spelling of the word "greatful" on the first line is how it is spelt on the memorial:

In greatful remembrance of those of Bicker who fell in the Great War Aug 1914 - Nov 1918.

  • John Henry BETHWAY
  • George COLES
  • Jack DOWSE
  • William GROSS
  • Walter HILTON
  • Herbert LANCASTER
  • Richard Bloodsworth MACHIN
  • Edward Henry NIX
  • Fred PATTRICK
  • Nurse Martha Jane PATTRICK
  • Walter PELL
  • John William PERRY
  • John Joseph STEEL

1939 - 45:

Alfred BETTINSON William Henry MASSINGHAM
Donald William BETTINSON Ralph MODD

It is not clear in which war the following died, the inscription reads:

Died at home from the effects of the war:

Harold CREASEY
Cecil John William ELKINGTON
Joseph William SMART

John Emerson, who retains the copyright, provides these photographs of the war memorial at Bicker:

War memorial WW1 plaque

WW2 plaque

Died plaque

Names, Geographical

  • The name Bicker is from the Old Scandinavian by+kjarr, or "village marsh". In the 1086 Domesday book, the village is given as Bichere.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • The parish was in the ancient Kirton Wapentake in the Boston Borough in the parts of Holland.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish, perhaps erroneously, in the North Kesteven division of the county.
  • For today's district governance, visit the local Boston Borough Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Kirton and Skirbeck petty session hearings.
  • Thomas DICKENSON left £10 in 1652 for the poor.
  • William THOMPSON left £52 in 1686 for the poor.
  • The CUST family left £26, undated, for the poor.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Boston Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1831 627
1871 753
1881 724
1891 661
1911 664

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was built to hold 150 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.