Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Billingborough

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Billingborough

Cemeteries

  • The Billingborough Cemetery is just west of the village on the Birthorpe Road.
  • The Billingborough Cemetery is not mentioned in Directories prior to 1930.

Census

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 615
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2316
1871 R.G. 10 / 3312
1891 R.G. 12 / 2556

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Billingborough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
  • The church is believed to have some Saxon portions, but most of the building dates from 1312.
  • The chancel was rebuilt in 1891.
  • The church has a spire 150 feet tall.
  • The church seats 375.
  • There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
  • Peter LANGSDALE has a photograph of St. Andrew's interior on Geo-graph, taken in February, 2004.
  • Here are three photos of St. Andrew's church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Billingborough St. Andrew church

Billingborough St. Andrew church

Billingborough St. Andrew church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1561.
  • We have a handful of entries in our parish register extract. Your additions to this are welcome.
  • If you are a PICKWORTH or GOULD researcher, you'll enjoy our quadruplets report.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Calvanistic Baptist Chapel was built in 1786.
  • The Wesleyan Methodist Chapel was built in 1829 and rebuilt in 1906.
  • In addition, there was another Baptist chapel in the parish. The Primitive Methodists built their's in 1868. Another Primitive Methodist chapel followed in 1902. For more on researching these chapel records, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Billingborough is both a large village and a parish 104 miles north of London and 9 miles NNE of Bourne. The B1177 road passes through the centre of the parish. Horbling parish lies to the north. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border. The old Car Dyke passes just east of the village. The parish encompasses about 2,200 acres.

For the visitor with a little time to spare, there's nothing like a visit to Hansens Handmade Chocolates on the High Street.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A52 trunk road between Grantham and Boston and turn south onto the B1177 arterial. Pass through Horbling and the next village is Billingborough.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Billingborough which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Billingborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The Billingborough and Horbling Gas Works were erected here in 1864.
  • A Public Hall was erected here in 1865, built of red brick with stone dressings. The Hall could hold 400.
  • The village hosted a County Police Station in 1900. Robert CARTER was the sergeant.
  • J. THOMAS has a photograph of the 17th century George and Dragon Inn in High Street on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2012.
  • These are the names associated with the George and Dragon in various directories:
"Year " Person
1842 Sar. JOHNSON, Vict.
1868 Mrs. Sarah JOHNSON
1872 Edward JOHNSON, vict.
1882 Edward JOHNSON, vict.
1900 Robert WADSLEY
1913 Edward SMITH
1930 Geo. W. BOOTH

Edward JOHNSON, above, was born in Billingborough, LIN, circa 1836. His mother, Sarah, was born in France.

Manors

  • Buckminster Hall was the residence of Lieut.-Col Albert De BURTON in 1900.
  • The village also had "Old Hall", which was a large mansion in the Tudor style. This was divided into three residences by 1930.

Maps

  • The national grid reference is TF 1134.
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF117343 (Lat/Lon: 52.894528, -0.341027), Billingborough which are provided by:

Military History

  • In 1912 Lieut.-Col. Albert De BARTON resided in the parish in Buckminster Hall. The last name is rendered as "de BURTON" in the 1881 census. He was born in London, but was a Captain in the Royal South Lincolnshire Militia in 1881 with three adult children born in Lincolnshire.
  • In the churchyard there is one gravestone for a WWI casualty and two for WWII. See the Traces of War website.

Military Records

For a photograph of the Billingborough War Memorial and the names on the plaques in the church, see the Roll of Honour site.

  • Michael Peck advises: "The WW2 memorial at St Andrews Church, Billingborough has been recorded. It shows no numbers, ranks or arms of service. Names recorded are:"

WW2:

  1. Cyril BRYANT
  2. Ralph Hilton CREDLAND
  3. Roy Hardy FREEMAN
  4. Robert Walter IRONMONGER
  5. Stephen LAMB
  6. Frank Henry MEADS
  7. Tom SPENSER

There are also 3 private memorials in the church:

  1. To Sgt Ralph H Credland Royal Air Force VR died 28 Jan 1942.
  2. To Leslie Grosvenor Hodgkinson Royal Field Artillery, eldest son of Charles Grosvenor Hodgkinson and Mary. Born St Andrews Day 1893 and killed in action near Ypres 1917 (no actual date mentioned), aged 23.
  3. To 2nd Lieut Charles Reginald Winckley (Sherwood Foresters). Killed in France 20th July 1916, aged 22. Second son of Revd C R Thorold Winckley of Billingborough

Steve Morse adds:

  • Hodgkinson Leslie G - Killed 28/07/1917 (three days prior to 3rd Ypres. He was a gunner in 'B' Battery, 58th Brigade RFA service no 20981.
  • Winckley Charles R - 15th Bn Sherwood Foresters, The address for his parents is given as Leamington, Warwickshire.

There are three Commonwealth War Graves in the Billingborough churchyard:

  1. R. CHRISTIAN, priv., Durham Light Inf., died 22 Nov. 1918, son of Elizabeth CHRISTIAN, Kirkby Underwood.
  2. Cyril Arthur BRYANT, srgt., 9 Sqdn. RAF, 24, died 30 Oct. 1939.
  3. Roy Hardy FREEMAN, ldg. airman, RN (HMS Nightjar), died 23 Oct. 1943, son of William Hardy and Charloote Lilian FRREMAN, Billingborough.

Names, Geographical

  • In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is rendered as Billingeburg, from the Old English Bill+inga+burh meaning "stronghold of the followers of Bill".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in the county of Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the Billingborough Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.
  • The Common Land was enclosed here in 1770.
  • The Charities for the poor amounted to £41 per year in 1900. There are stone tablets in the church which record several gifts for the Charities.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.

Population

The parish grew quickly in the 1800s. With the coming of the railroads around 1845, the population soared.

Year  Inhabitants
1801 537
1831 831
1841 999
1851 1,048
1871 1,227
1891 1,123
1911 964

Schools

  • A Council School was built here in 1876 to hold up to 400 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.