Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bloxholme

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bloxholme

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 615
1861 R.G. 9 / 2342
1871 R.G. 10 / 3349
1891 R.G. 12 / 2577

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bloxholme area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Mary the Virgin.
  • The church dates from the Early English period.
  • John de BLOXHAM, who died in 1334, was a Carmelite Friar, highly distinguished for his learning.
  • The church is Grade I listed with British Heritage.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2006.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Bloxholm St. Mary parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1708.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1708 to 1812 and Marriages from 1708 to 1808.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This small village and parish are 5 miles north of Sleaford, in a rural, agricultural area. Cranwell parish lies to the west and Ruskington parish to the east. The parish covers almost 1,300 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the B1188 north out of Sleaford and turn left (west) at Dorrington to get to Bloxholme.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Bloxholme which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bloxholme has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bloxholme to another place.

Manors

  • Bloxholm Hall was built toward the end of the 17th century. It was enlarged and beautified in 1825.
  • The manor was formerly the seat of the THORNTON family. It was purchased by the Duchess of Rutland and passed from her to Lord MANNERS.
  • The Hall was unoccupied in 1900.

Maps

  • You can get a map of the Village Conservation Area in Portable Document File format (requires Adobe Reader) from the North Kesteven District Council.
  • The national grid reference is TF 0653.
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer 272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF064538 (Lat/Lon: 53.070828, -0.413370), Bloxholme which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name is currently rendered without the trailing "e" or as "Bloxham".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In April, 1931, this parish was abolished and all 1,415 acres amalgamated with Ashby de la Laund Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 81
1841 67
1871 84
1881 97
1891 114
1911 100
1921 79

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school at Digby.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.