We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Blyborough

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 628
1861 R.G. 9 / 2406
1871 R.G. 10 / 3442
1891 R.G. 12 / 2632

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Blyborough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican church is dedicated to Saint Alkmond (or Alkmund).
  • The original church was apparently built in Norman times, prior to 1312.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1877. It is primarily built of stone.
  • The church seats 180.
  • The church is a Grade I listed building with British Heritage.
  • A photograph of St. Alkmond church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Alkmond's Church on Geo-graph, taken in 2005.
  • He also has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in 2012.
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the church tower on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2010.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Blyborough St. Alkmond parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1691 for marriages and from 1791 for baptisms and burials.
  • The London Family History Centre has the Bishop's Transcripts for 1599 through 1830 and the parish registers for 1691 through 1759.
  • The Lincoln Archives has parish register for 1785 through 1812.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Corringham Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for baptisms from 1813 to 1966, marriages from 1813 to 1837 and burials from 1813 to 1993.
  • Information on present church services and contact information can be found on the Anglican Diocese web site.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Scotter sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Blyborough is a village and parish which is just east of Gainsborough by about 9 miles, and 16 miles north of Lincoln. The parish covers about 2,350 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village is on the B1936 just 9 miles east of Gainsborough.
  • Google has a number of photographs around the parish and a couple of old maps, as well.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Blyborough which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Blyborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

  • In 1882, the principal landowner was George Augustus LUARD of Blyborough Hall.

Manors

  • Blyborough Hall is an ancient mansion, built of stone. It was formerly the seat of the SOUTCOTE and BOURRYAN families. In 1882 it was the residence of George Augustus LUARD.
  • The Hall is a Grade II listed building with British Heritage.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK934945 (Lat/Lon: 53.438998, -0.595404), Blyborough which are provided by:

Military History

  • Two brothers fought in the Penninsular War and at Waterloo. Those two were Lieutenant John LUARD of the 16th Light Dragoons, and Captain George LUARD of the 18th Hussars. Both survived the war. They are memorialized in a stained glass window in the church.
  • A yew tree in the churchyard, over 200 years old, is a memorial to "all who gave their lives for this country and freedom."
  • The Royal Flying Corps laid out an airfield here in October, 1916.
  • The airfield closed in February, 1918.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the churchyard War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in 2012.
  • Tony HIBBERD has a photograph of the STRAWSON Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2013.
  • Four LUARD family members are recorded on this memorial inside the church on Flickr, taken in 2008.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the west division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The citizens of Blyborough have decided to have periodic Parish Meetings rather than a formal Parish Council. They will NOT do family history searches for you.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 157
1831 201
1841 197
1851 199
1861 209
1871 210
1881 249
1891 213
1901 200
1911 178

Probate Records

Ros DUNNING provides a transcript of the will of ACKRILL, Benjamin of Blyborough.

Schools

  • The first parocial school, a National School, was built here at the expense of George A. LUARD in 1871. It could hold up to 60 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.