Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Boothby Pagnell

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Boothby Pagnell

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1890, the district was re-organized and this parish allocated to the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 615
1861 R.G. 9 / 2347
1871 R.G. 10 / 3354
1891 R.G. 12 / 2582

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Boothby Pagnell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
  • Some portions of the building date back to 1330.
  • The church was restored in 1895.
  • The church seats only about 120 people.
  • Bishop SANDERSON was rector here for forty years.
  • There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
  • Robert DANYLEC has a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2005.
  • Here is a photo of St. Andrew's church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Andrew parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1559.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1890, the district was re-organized and this parish allocated to the Grantham South sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish are about 6 miles southeast of Grantham and about 3 miles due east from Great Ponton. The parish covers 1,813 acres.

The village is near the source of the Glen River and the West Glen River runs past the east end of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village lies astride the B1176 arterial road which runs from Stamford to Grantham.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Boothby Pagnell which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Boothby Pagnell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Boothby Pagnell to another place.

Manors

  • Boothby Hall was the residence of Mrs. GIFFORD in 1900.
  • Next to Boothby Hall was an ancient manor house of the late Norman period.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK971308 (Lat/Lon: 52.865907, -0.559019), Boothby Pagnell which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Winnibriggs and Threo Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • On 1 April, 1931, this parish was reduced by 4 acres to enlarge Old Somerby Civil Parish.
  • The citizens of this parish have elected to forgo a formal Parish Council and instead have periodic parish meetings to discuss civic and political issues.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate petty sessional hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 100
1841 132
1851 120
1861 112
1871 133
1881 130
1891 129
1901 156
1911 109
1921 136

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built in 1896 by Mrs. THOROLD. It could hold 70 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.