Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Braceborough

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.


Archives and Libraries

  • Stamford Library
  • High Street
  • Stamford, Lincs, PE9 2BB
  • Tele: 01780 763442



  • The parish was in the Barnack sub-district of the Stamford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • Some returns are online for 1861 and 1891 at the FreeCEN site.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 615
1851 H.O. 107 / 2094
1861 R.G. 9 / 2314
1871 R.G. 10 / 3310
1891 R.G. 12 / 2554
1901 R.G. 13 / 3022


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Braceborough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There was a chapelry of Braceborough's Anglican Church in Wilsthorpe parish for many centuries.
  • Braceborough's Anglican Church is dedicated to Saint Margaret.
  • The church underwent a thorough restoration in 1841. It was restored again in 1858.
  • The church seats 130.
  • There is a photograph of St. Margaret's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Margaret's church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
  • Here are two photos of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Braceborough St. Margaret parish church

Braceborough St. Margaret parish church

Church Records

  • Braceborough parish registers exist from 1593 but I.G.I. entries go back almost another 30 years to 1562.
  • The National Burial Index (NBI) lists 261 entries (1813-1899) for the parish church.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Barnack sub-district of the Stamford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Braceborough is both a village and parish 92 miles north of London, six miles northeast of Stamford and six miles northwest of Market Deeping off of either the A15 or the A16 trunk roads. The parish is bounded on the east by the River Glen and on the south by Greatford parish. To the west is Essendine parish in Rutlandshire. The parish covered about 1,700 acres in 1842.

An arm of the East Glen River runs past the north side of the village and a large wood still stands, half a mile west of the village. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Braceborough which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Braceborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The parish was blessed with a fine mineral spring about a mile northeast of the village and a "bathing house" was built here in 1841 for people who wanted to "take the waters".
  • There was a railway station here by 1872, on the Bourne and Essendine branch of the Great Northern line.
  • Braceborough History Project was published in 2000 and contains much useful information about this village. Copies are held at Stamford Public Library and Lincolnshire Archives Office. [Dereck Titchen]

Land and Property

  • In 1842, Dr. Francis WILLIS of Shillingthorpe Hall, lord of the manor, was the principal landowner.
  • In 1872 and 1882, the principal landowners were Lord Kesteven and Dr. Francis WILLIS.
  • In 1900 thru 1913, the principal landowner was Lord Kesteven, lord of the manor.


  • Shillingthorpe Hall, a stone mansion four miles northeast of Stamford, is in this parish. In 1842, it was occupied by Dr. Francis WILLIS, MD, who ran a private lunatic asylum in the mansion.
  • In 1872, Shillingthorpe Hall was the residence of Charles PHILLIPS.
  • In 1882, Shillingthorpe Hall was unoccupied.
  • In 1900, Shillingthorpe Hall was occupied by Mrs. MAPLETON.
  • In 1913, Shillingthorpe Hall was unoccupied.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF080131 (Lat/Lon: 52.704777, -0.402999), Braceborough which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Braceborough War Memorial plaque in the church and the name inscribed on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Braceborough is from the Old English Braesen+burh, or "Strong fortress". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village is given as Braseborg". You may also find it in old records as "Braceburg(h)".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • White's 1842 Directory lists the following names in the parish: John BERRIDGE, Robt. BLACKLOCK, John FARROW, James FRANCIS, Joseph FRANCIS, Wm. HEWITT, George HILL, Samuel JUDSON, Jonathan MOYER, Samuel PARKINSON, Jas. QUINCY, Rev. Geo. ROGERS, John ROLLINGSON, William SMITH, William TURNELL and Dr. Francis WILLIS.
  • White's 1882 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish: AULT, BARSBY, BERRIDGE, CAMM, DOWNS, FRISBY, HUXLEY, KNIPE, MOUNTAIN, QUINCEY, SMITH, STORY, TURNILL, WILLIS and WOOLLEY.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish: BARSBY, BLUNT, DOWNS, FENTON, HARVEY, HAWKES, MAPLETON, SMITH, SNEATH, STORY, TURNILL, WILLIS and WOOLLEY.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory lists the following surnames in the parish: ANDREW, BARSBY, CUNNINGTON, PAINE, SMITH, STORY, WHATTOFF and WOOLLEY.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Ness Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 148
1831 219
1841 181
1871 228
1881 184
1891 174
1911 169


  • In 1871 a schoolhouse was built, attended at that time by about 35 students.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory tells us that the children of the parish attended school at Greatford.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.