Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Bradley

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Bradley

Cemeteries

  • Brian CHESTER has provided a Monument Inscription lookup feature at his website for St. George Church.

Census

  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organization, the parish was placed in the Grimsby sub-district of the new Grimsby Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841, 1851, 1881 and 1891.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 629
1861 R.G. 9 / 2391
1871 R.G. 10 / 3416
1891 R.G. 12 / 2620

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bradley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The present Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint George and dates to the 13th century.
  • The church seats 100.
  • There is a photograph of St. George's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of "St. George's Church" on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2006.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Bradley St. George parish church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers date from 1561.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Grimsby and Cleethorpes Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a small chapel here before 1881. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organization, the parish was placed in the Grimsby sub-district of the new Grimsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Bradley is both a village and parish just west of Grimsby. Scartho parish borders on the east, Laceby parish is to the west and Barnoldby le Beck parish is to the south. The area is about 1,530 acres.

The village is a small village just outside Grimsby, south off of the A46 trunk road. If you are planning a visit:

  • Bradley Woods & Dixons Nature Reserve, just a mile south of the village on the road to Waltham. It is open daily from dawn until dusk, with good footpaths, cycle and bridle paths.
  • See our touring page for area resources.
You can see pictures of Bradley which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Bradley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Bradley to another place.

History

  • The Grimsby Corporation Sanatorium for Infectious Diseases was located here around 1900 and could hold 80 patients.
  • The webpage author believes this is now the "Bradley Woodlands Hospital" which specializes in adults with learning disabilities and mental health issues.

Maps

  • The national grid reference is TA 2407
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer 283 map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TA243077 (Lat/Lon: 53.551211, -0.125241), Bradley which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Bradley is a common name in England, occuring also in Wiltshire, Derbyshire and Staffordshire. It is from the Old English Brad+leah for "broad wood or clearing".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was part of the ancient Bradley Haverstoe Wapentake in the Central Lindsey district of the parts of Lindsey.
  • In 1832, this parish was added to the Parliamentary Borough of Grimsby.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The Common Lands were enclosed in 1798.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Caistor Poor Law Union.
  • In an 1890 re-organization, this parish was transferred to the new Grimsby Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Grimsby petty session hearings.

Population

  Year  Inhabitants
1801 84
1831 96
1871 69
1881 99
1891 85
1911 78

Schools

  • The children of the parish went to the Laceby Free School, two miles away.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.