Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Brattleby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Brattleby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the North East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 629
1861 R.G. 9 / 2363
1871 R.G. 10 / 3375
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brattleby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Cuthbert.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1858.
  • The church seats 110.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Cuthbert's Church on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2005.
  • David HITCHBORNE also has a photograph of St. Cuthbert's Church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2004.
  • Here is a photo of St. Cuthbert's church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Cuthbert parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1685.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1685 to 1811 and Marriages from 1685 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Brattleby is a parish and small town north-northwest of Lincoln. To the south is Aisthorpe parish. The parish covers just over 1,100 acres and is a long, thin band running west to east.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the B1398 arterial road north out of Lincoln and through Scampton to get to the village.
  • Ian S. has a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2014.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Brattleby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brattleby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • Brattleby Hall was held by the DE la HAYE family during the reign of Henry I.
  • Brattleby Hall was the residence of Philip Chetwood WRIGHT in 1900.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK949810 (Lat/Lon: 53.317420, -0.576881), Brattleby which are provided by:

Military History

  • According to the Traces of War website, the St. Cuthbert's churchyard has one Commonwealth war grave from WWII.

Military Records

For a photograph of the Brattleby War Memorial plaques outside the church and the names on htem, see the Roll of Honour site.

Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Captain Guy CHICHESTER memorial on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2009.

Commonweath War Grave, World War II:

  • Clare Arthur CONNOR D.F.C., flying officer, RAF 83 Sqdn., age 26, died 4 Nov. 1940. Son of Arthur and Grace CONNOR, Husb. of Betty Cave CONNOR.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey division of the county, in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed or funded to assist you with family history questions.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bail and Close (Lincoln) petty session hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 123
1831 154
1851 169
1861 153
1871 122
1881 148
1891 138
1901 148
1911 127
1921 108
1931 104

Schools

  • A Church of England School was built in 1871 to hold up to 40 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.