Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Brigsley

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Brigsley

Cemeteries

  • Brian Chester has provided a Monument Inscription lookup feature at his website for St. Helen Church.(JB)
  • St Helen, Church Lane, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In 1890, the parish was allocated to the Grimsby sub-district of the new Grimsby Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 629
1861 R.G. 9 / 2390
1871 R.G. 10 / 3416
1891 R.G. 12 / 2620

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brigsley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Helen.
  • The church is built primarily of chalk stone.
  • The church seats 105.
  • There is a photograph of St. Helen's church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of St. Helen's church on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2004.
  • David HITCHBORNE also has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2004.
  • Here are two photos of St. Helen's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Brigsley St. Helen

Brigsley St. Helen

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers date from 1561.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a 1641/2 Protestation Return for the Haverstoe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The parish had two small Methodist chapels by 1900. To research these chapels, check our Non-Conformist Church Records page for additional resources.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grimsby sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organization, the parish was allocated to the Grimsby sub-district of the new Grimsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish are just south of Grimsby. Waltham parish is to the north and Ashby cum Fenby to the south. Waithe Beck flows through the parish and skirts the south edge of the village. The parish covers only 860 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the B1203 arterial road south out of Grimsby and through Waltham.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Brigsley which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brigsley has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brigsley to another place.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TA254019 (Lat/Lon: 53.498845, -0.110967), Brigsley which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was part of the ancient Bradley Haverstoe Wapentake in the Central Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish, perhaps erroneously, in the North Lindsey division of the county.
  • District governance is provided by the North-East Lincolnshire Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 64
1831 108
1841 125
1871 165
1881 139
1891 108
1901 112
1911 123

Schools