We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Brocklesby

Census

  • The parish was in the Caistor sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 629
1861 R.G. 9 / 2392
1871 R.G. 10 / 3420 & 3421
1891 R.G. 12 / 2621

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brocklesby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There used to be a convent of nuns in the hamlet of Nun Cotham, hence the name. They were in the Cistercian order and the nunnery was founded in the reign of Henry I.
  • The Anglican parish church is a stone building dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church was restored in 1852.
  • The church seats 160.
  • Rod COLLINS fives a good description of the church and churchyard.
  • A photograph of the Anglican parish church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • David WRIGHT has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2006.
  • Here is a photograph of All Saints Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1538 (Some sources give 1672).
  • There is a great deal of material about Brocklesby held in the records of the Lincolnshire Archives. They put out a useful CD, which apart from a listing of Wills (some of which are for residents of Brocklesby), includes contents of the Foster library. The CD references this item in the Archives: CW Foster "Parish Register of Brocklesby 1538-1837". [Antony Barber]
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Yarborough Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Caistor sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Brocklesby is a village and a parish about 7 miles north of Caistor and 10 miles west of Grimsby. The parish includes the hamlets of Little Limber, Newsham and Nun Cotham. The parish covers over 3,930 acres.

If you plan to visit:

  • Peter Fairweather has a site with information on the village and its church.
  • Many folks in north Lincolnshire come here each year to select and cut a Christmas Tree.
  • See the Lincolnshire Touring and Holidays page on this site.
You can see pictures of Brocklesby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brocklesby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • Prince Albert visited Brocklesby Park in 1849.
  • Brocklesby Hall was listed in 1913 as "a noble mansion" with many fine pieces of art. The east wing was destroyed by fire in March, 1898, and subsequently rebuilt.
  • There is a detailed history of Brocklesby Park online.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TA142112 (Lat/Lon: 53.584949, -0.276337), Brocklesby which are provided by:

Military History

  • There is an alabaster and green marble memorial inside the parish church to the residents of the parish who fell in World War I.

Military Records

There is an alabaster memorial inside the parish church to Lieut. Charles Sackville PELHAM who died at Zandvoorde on 30-Oct-1914, age 27.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Yarborough Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • In March, 1887, the Newsham portion of this parish was annexed to the Immingham Civil Parish.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish, perhaps erroneously, in the North Lindsey division of the county.
  • The parish has a local Parish Council to deal with civic and political issues.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 207
1811 157
1831 242
1841 229
1871 260
1881 262
1891 282
1901 273
1911 225

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school in Limber.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.