(Burton) Burton by Lincoln
- The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican Church is dedicated to St. Vincent.
- It was rebuilt in 1795.
- Here are two photos of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):


- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1559 to 1812 and Marriages from 1558 to 1812.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
This small parish is just northwest of Lincoln parish and city and west of Nettleham parish. The parish covers about 2,260 acres and includes the farm known as Hathow.
On most maps, the village is simply listed as "Burton". If you are planning a visit:
- By car, the village abuts the B1198 trunk road, one mile north out of Lincoln, before South Carlton.
- Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- Lord MONSON formerly resided at Barrowby Hall, but by 1842 had turned it over to his gardener.
- The national grid reference is SK 9574.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey "Explorer #272" map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- For governance, the parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- The parish had an almshouse for up to 10 widows, shared with north and South Carlton and Broxholme parishes. It was founded before 1651 by Sir John MONSON.
- As a result of the Poor Law Reform Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
164 |
| 1831 |
177 |
| 1871 |
209 |
- Burton was allowed for many years to send free scholars to the school at South Carlton.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 10-January-2007 - Louis Mills]