Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Burton by Lincoln

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Burton by Lincoln

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 629
1861 R.G. 9 / 2357
1871 R.G. 10 / 3369
1891 R.G. 12 / 2589

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Burton by Lincoln area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican Church is dedicated to Saint Vincent.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1795.
  • The church seats 130.
  • Here are two photos of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Burton St. Vincent parish church

Burton St. Vincent parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1558.
  • We have a handful of entries from a Parish Register Extract in a pop-up text file. Your additions and corrections are welcome.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1559 to 1812 and Marriages from 1558 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This small parish is just 2 miles north-west of Lincoln parish and city and west of Nettleham parish. South Carlton parish is just to the north. The parish covers about 2,300 acres and includes the farm known as Hathow.

On most maps, the village is simply listed as "Burton". If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Burton by Lincoln which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Burton by Lincoln has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • Lord MONSON formerly resided at Burton Hall, but by 1842 had turned it over to his gardener. The property remained in the MONSON family.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK960740 (Lat/Lon: 53.254319, -0.562487), Burton by Lincoln which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Burton War Memorial plaques in the church and the names on them, see the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You can contact the local Burton Parish Council regarding civic or political issues. They are NOT staffed to assist you with family history questions.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The parish had an almshouse for up to 10 widows, shared with north and South Carlton and Broxholme parishes. It was founded before 1651 by Sir John MONSON. These were rebuilt in 1879.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard at the Lincoln Bail and Close petty sessional hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 164
1831 177
1841 206
1851 204
1871 209
1891 248
1911 275

Schools

  • Burton was allowed for many years to send free scholars to the school at South Carlton.
  • An Infants' School was set up in the Parish room in 1897.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.