Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Caenby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Caenby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 630 & 633
1861 R.G. 9 / 2363
1871 R.G. 10 / 3376
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Caenby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • There was a church here prior to the Norman Conquest.
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
  • The Church was restored in 1869.
  • The Church seats only 72.
  • The church was declared redundant by the Diocese of Lincoln in March, 1975. It was gifted as a monument in October, 1982.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Nicholas' Church on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2013.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Caenby St. Nicholas parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1713.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1712 to 1812 and Marriages from 1712 to 1813.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • In the late 1800s, it was in the new Aslacoe Deanery.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Caenby is both a small village and a parish north of the city of Lincoln. Gainsborough lies 12 miles east, Normanby parish lies to the south and Glentham parish to the north. The parish covers over 1,400 acres.

Caenby village (also spelled Cannby) is small enough that the name does not appear on many small-scale (large area) maps. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A15 north out of Lincoln to the A631. Take the A631 east and turn off at Glentham and head south. The area between Glentham and Normanby is Caenby parish.
  • There is a "Caenby Corner" car service centre near Hemswell parish.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Caenby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Caenby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • For centureis, most of the parish was pasturage.

Manors

  • Caenby Hall was the home and seat of the TOURNEY family. In the middle of the 18th century, it passed by marriage to the MONCK family and afterward to the MIDDLETONs.
  • Henry VIII slept here in 1541.
  • Caenby Hall was close to Ermine Street. Most of the building disappeared in the 19th century leaving just the garden walls.
  • Caenby Hall is currently owned by the FOX family. They use the Hall to run their plant hire business, "Fox Plant".

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF000890 (Lat/Lon: 53.388368, -0.497825), Caenby which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the east division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The citizens of this parish have elected to forgo a formal parish council and instead they hold periodic Parish Meetings of all citizens to discuss civic and political issues.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 119
1821 121
1831 176
1841 185
1851 146
1871 122
1881 129
1891 116
1911 103

Schools

  • Children of this parish attended school at Glentham.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.