Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Calcethorpe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Calcethorpe

Census

  • The parish was in the Binbrook sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for 1841 and 1881.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 630
1851 H.O. 107 / 2112
1861 R.G. 9 / 2384
1871 R.G. 10 / 3406
1891 R.G. 12 / 2609

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Calcethorpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to Saint Faith.
  • St. Faith Church fell into ruin and was disused by 1450.
  • St. Faith church was demolished and no traces of it remained by 1842.
  • The parish was amalgamated eclessiastically along with Cadeby (North and South) as it had no church of its own. The inhabitants of the parish used Kelstern and Gayton-le-Wold churches for the most part.

Church Records

  • The parish registers for Calcethorpe are generally included in Kelstern parish records, which dates from 1651.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Louthesk Deanery to make your search easier. By 1911, the parish had been transfered to the new deanery of Ludborough.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Binbrook sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Calcethorpe is a small parish approximately 8 Km or 5 miles west of Louth, just south of the A631 road between Louth and Market Rasen. Kelstern parish is to the north and Welton le Wold parish to the east. The parish covered about 1,090 acres.

There is little left of a central village, just some houses along the road. If you are planning a visit:

  • The upper Bain chalk river rises from a spring near Calcethorpe and runs south to Horncastle. Most of the villagers lived along or near the river.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Calcethorpe which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Calcethorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The ancient village of Calcethorpe was virtually abandoned around 1660, about two hundred years after the nearby village of South Cadeby had been abandoned. Both existed in Saxon times and are recorded in the 1086 Domesday Book.
  • Both ancient village sites are being preserved as "Deserted Medieval Villages".
  • Michael PATTERSON has a photograph of the deserted village area on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.

Manors

  • Calcethorpe Manor was the residence of Leslie Philip STEPHENSON, a farmer, in 1913.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF240880 (Lat/Lon: 53.374300, -0.137531), Calcethorpe which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Calcethorpe is from a combination of Old English and Old Scandinavian caegel+thorpe, for "farmstead or hamlet of a man named Caegel". In the 1086 Domesday Book it first appears as Cheilestorp.
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the Wold division of the ancient Louth Eske Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The parish merged with Kelstern in fairly modern times.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Louth Poorlaw Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Louth petty session hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 36
1831 72
1841 69
1871 87
1881 82
1891 89
1901 76
1911 107

Schools

  • The children of the parish attended school at Kelstern.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.