Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Careby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Careby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 616
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2315
1871 R.G. 10 / 3311
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Careby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican Church is dedicated to Saint Stephen.
  • The church is an Early English style, but the tower is considered Norman.
  • The church was renovated in 1855-6.
  • The church seats 150.
  • The church is Grade I listed with British Heritage.
  • The churchyard has a new lychgate made by local craftsmen to commemorate the millenium.
  • There is a photograph of St. Stephen's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Rex NEEDLE has a photograph of the Careby church lychgate on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2000.
  • Here are two photos of Saint Stephen's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Careby St. Stephen

Careby St. Stephen

Church Records

  • Anclican parish registers exist from 1561.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory of Lincolnshire places this church in the Ness rural Deanery.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Careby is both a village and parish which lies just east of the A1 trunk road, south of Little Bytham and just north of Stamford. The West Glen River passes down the west edge of the parish. The parish covers about 1,450 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • Tim HEATON has a photograph of Careby's main road on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2006.
  • There is still an active rail line through Careby, but the web-page author does not know if there is passenger service.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Careby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Careby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Careby to another place.

History

  • The Willoughby Arms Hotel is on Station Road midway between Careby and Little Bytham. It was originally named "The Steam Plough" when built in the 19th century. It had that name in 1868.
  • Bob HARVEY has a photograph of the Willoughby Arms on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2014.
  • These are the names associated with the Willoughby Arms in various directories:
Year  Person
1868 John JOHNSON
1872 George CASEWELL, butcher
1882 John CHAMBERLAIN, victualer
1900 Dnl. CHARLESWORTH
1913 Walter MEDWELL, butcher
1930 W. MEDWELL

Manors

  • In 1900 Colonel Charles BIRCH-REYNARDSON apparently owned the Hall. The Colonel was born in Holywell, LIN, in 1846.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory of Lincolnshire refers to "some remains of the ancient mansion" of the HATCHER family.

Maps

  • The national grid reference is TF 0316.
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF025165 (Lat/Lon: 52.736400, -0.483310), Careby which are provided by:

Military History

  • Traces of an Iron Age fort known as "Careby Camp" are found in Careby Wood.

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from the Old Scandinavian Kariby or "village of a man named Kari," and first appears in 1199 as Careby.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Beltisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the joint Careby, with Holywell and Aunby parish council concerning civic or politcal issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

 Year  Inhabitants
1801 65
1831 75
1841 73
1851 108
1871 138
1881 168
1891 149
1911 133

Schools

  • A school was built here in 1869 for 60 children. The school was enlarged in 1879 and again in 1895.
  • The school closed in the 1960s.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.