Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Carlby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Carlby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Bourne sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 616
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2318
1871 R.G. 10 / 3316
1891 R.G. 12 / 2557

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Carlby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Stephen.
  • The church was originally built in the 12th to the 15th century.
  • The present church building dates from 1734.
  • The church seats about 130.
  • There is a photograph of St. Stephen's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Rex NEEDLE has a photograph of St. Stephen’s Church on Geo-graph, taken in August, 1999.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Carlby St. Stephen parish church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1660, but I.G.I. entries cover as far back as 1562.
  • Parish registers are on file at the Society of Genealogists, covering 1668 - 1837.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Aveland and Ness Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The National Burial Index lists 318 burials between 1813 and 1900 for this parish.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Bourne sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Carlby is both a village and parish which lies just east of the A1 trunk road and north of the A16, south of Careby Parish and just 5 miles north of Stamford. The West Glen River passes down the south side of the parish and Ryhall in Rutland is just across the river. The parish covers about 1,400 acres.

The village of Carlby was described in 1911 as a "small agricultural village, pleasantly standing on a slight elevation on the road from Stamford to Bourne, close to the borders of Rutland". If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, the village is just west off the A6121 trunk road between Stamford and Bourne, just north of Essendine in Rutland.
  • Jonathan BILLINGER has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2010. The webpage author suggests that you stop in and ask for a schedule of forth-coming events.
  • Mat FASCIONE provides a photograph of the Village Sign on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2014. Just to guarantee that you are there!
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Carlby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Carlby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Ian DAIR has written "Carlby - Then and Now" (62 pages), which is available for around £5, (which goes to village organisations). Postage and handling are extra. You can contact him at: Ian Dair .

Maps

  • The National Grid Reference is TF 0514.
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer #248 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF050130 (Lat/Lon: 52.704468, -0.447414), Carlby which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Carlby War Memorial plaque in the church, and the names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from the Old Scandinavian Karl+by or "village of the freemen" and first appears in the 1086 Domesday Book as Carleby.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Ness Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In March, 1887, this Civil Parish was enlarged by gaining Wood's Farm on Barber's Hill from Essendine Civil Parish.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed or funded to help you with family history searches. The parish also holds an annual Parish Meeting for all citizens to attend.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings on Mondays.
  • At the enclosure of the Common Land about 7 perches of land were awarded to the poor.
  • This parish charities generated about £5 yearly in 1911 for coal to be distributed to the poor.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.

Population

 Year  Inhabitants
1801 162
1831 206
1841 216
1851 349
1871 175
1881 163
1891 149
1901 114
1911 141

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school in Essendine in Rutlandshire.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.