Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Carlton Scroop

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Carlton Scroop



  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 616
1861 R.G. 9 / 2353
1871 R.G. 10 / 3362
1891 R.G. 12 / 2586


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Carlton Scroop area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The present Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas and is of Anglo-Norman origin.
  • The lower stage of the tower is of Norman origin.
  • The tower was restored by John PALMER in 1633 after it fell through the church roof in 1630.
  • The church was restored in 1878.
  • The church seats 175.
  • A photograph of St. Nicholas Church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Ian PATERSON has a nice photograph of St. Nicholas' Church on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2009.
  • And Gary BROTHWELL also has a nice photograph of St. Nicholas' Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2010.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Nicholas parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1557.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1558 to 1811 and Marriages from 1558 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a small chapel here, built before 1900. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish lies 7 miles north-east of Grantham, 19 miles south of Lincoln and 9 miles west of Sleaford. The parish covers about 1,370 acres. Normanton parish is just to the north, with Honington parish to the south and Ancaster parish to the east.

The village of Carlton Scroop is built on the Cliff range of hills. The Honington Beck flows just south and east of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • Carlton Scroop is on the A607 north out of Grantham.
  • The railway that used to serve Carlton Scroop has been dismantled and removed.
  • The Sudbrook Moor Golf Club is just south-east of the village.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Carlton Scroop which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Carlton Scroop has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Discoveries here have pushed the age of a settlement here back to Neolithic time (4000 BCE).
  • The village is mentioned in the 1086 Domesday Book.
  • And check the history of the Wapentake at the Loveden Wapentake website.

Land and Property

  • In 1871, the Earl BROWNLOW was the principal landowner. Parcels were owned by the SILLS, ALLIX and MINTA families.
  • In 1913, the Earl BROWNLOW, Cyril E. GREENHALL and Hugh Mounteney LELY were the principal landowners.


  • Carlton-Scroop Hall was built of local Ancaster Stone. In 1913 it was the home of Captain John Henry Wyndham RENNIE.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK948450 (Lat/Lon: 52.993929, -0.589030), Carlton Scroop which are provided by:

Military Records

Michael PECK provides us with: "The very small war memorial at Carlton Scroop has now been recorded. Only one name is mentioned:"

WW2 memorial

  1. L/Cpl Harold FOOTITT (South Staffs Yeomanry) who lost his life 26 Oct 1945

Names, Geographical

  • The name is Old Scandanvian karl plus Old English ton, giving us "farmstead of the freemen or peasants" with the manorial name of the SCROPE family added on in the 14th century. The parish is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Carletune.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • Here's a list of surnames from White's 1871 Directory: CARLYON, COPELAND, HARDY, HIBITT, LOUTH, NEWTON, PARNHAM, PICK, SCHNEIDER and WARD.

Politics and Government

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate petty sessional hearings.
  • The parish used to reserve 5 acres and 2 rods of land as rental income for the poor.
  • Edith TYNDALE left the interest on £100 in 1878 as money for the poor.
  • An unknown donor left the interest on £12 (later £18) for the poor, distributed in coal and firewood.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 136
1841 219
1851 271
1861 266
1871 212
1891 231
1911 260


  • A National School was built here in 1841, shared with Normanton parish. The school was enlarged in 1896 to hold 95 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.