Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Castle Bytham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Castle Bytham


  • A Cemetery was laid out in 1898.
  • St James, High Street, Church of England


  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 615
1861 R.G. 9 / 2315
1871 R.G. 10 / 3311
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555
1901 R.G. 13 / 3023


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Castle Bytham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint James.
  • The church dates from about 1115.
  • The church was restored in 1857 and again in 1900.
  • The church seats 280.
  • The church sits on a rise in the centre of the village.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. James' Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2008.
  • Here is a photo of St. James' Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Castle Bytham St. James parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1567.
  • Parish marriages are in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering 1567 - 1751.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes (marriage and burial) for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The parish had a Wesleyan Methodist chapel erected in 1836. This chapel was enlarged in 1866 and restored in 1899. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Castle Bytham is both a village and parish which lies just east of the A1 trunk road, 94 miles north of London,9 miles north of Stamford, and 5 miles southwest of Corby, near the border with Rutland County. The parish includes the hamlet of Counthorpe. Swayfield parish lies to the north and Creeton parish to the northwest. The parish sits on a branch of the River Witham and covers about 4,100 acres, but was once considerably larger.

If you are planning a visit:

  • There is a caravan park just east of the village.
  • You will klnow when you're there when you see the Village Sign, here photographed by Bob HARVEY.
  • Stop by the Village Hall on Pinfold Lane and get a schedule of current events.
  • Check out our touring page for resources.
You can see pictures of Castle Bytham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Castle Bytham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • The ancient name of the village was West Bytham, changed to Castle Bytham after the castle was built.
  • Castle Bytham may have been where the first Norman castle was built. By 1086, it was held by Drew de BEURERE, the Lord of Holderness.
  • There is a book entitled 'The History of Castle Bytham (update 2000)' by Richard FOERS MBE JP. It is published by the Castle Bytham Parish Council and runs to some 200 pages. Cost £12.50 when published in 1999. No ISBN, therefore I assume it's a limited publication. To see if copies are still available, write to: Castle Bytham Parish Clerk, Mrs J Gascoyne, 2 St Martins, Castle Bytham, Grantham, NG33 4RH, United Kingdom.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK977181 (Lat/Lon: 52.751667, -0.553902), Castle Bytham which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Bytham is from the Old English bythme or "valley bottom," and the name first appears in 1067 as Bytham and in the 1086 Domesday Book as Bitham.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.
  • Castle Bytham is often listed as "Bytham Castle".
  • Locals pronounce the name as "Bye-Tham".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Beltisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.
  • The Common Lands here, about 2,151 acres, were enclosed in 1801.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 506
1831 781
1841 853
1871 721
1881 654
1891 815
1911 553


  • A Public Elementary School (mixed) was built here in 1860. A new classroom was added in 1890.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.