Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Cold Hanworth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Cold Hanworth

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 636
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3376
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Cold Hanworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church was built in 1861-62 by Commodore Peter CRACROFT. It replaced an older structure on the site.
  • The church could seat 84.
  • The church was declared redundant by the Diocese of Lincoln in October, 1973. The building was sold for use as a studio in October, 1976.
  • Ian PATERSON has a photograph of the old Lych gate on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2007.
  • Here is a photo of All Saints' dwelling house, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Cold Hanworth All Saints' dwelling house

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1725.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1725 to 1812 and Marriages from 1726 to 1809.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire reports that the parish is in the rural deanery of Aslackhoe.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Cold Hanworth is both a village and a parish north of the city of Lincoln. Welton parish lies to the south and Spridlington parish to the northwest. The parish covers only about 817 acres.

Cold Hanworth village is between two small rivulets which run southeast, eventually feeding the River Witham. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A15 north out of Lincoln. The turnoff for Cold Hanworth will be about six miles outside of Lincoln, just behind Hackthorn village.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Cold Hanworth which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Cold Hanworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Cold Hanworth to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF030830 (Lat/Lon: 53.333879, -0.454685), Cold Hanworth which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the eastern division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Friday of every month.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 36
1831 63
1851 80
1871 72
1891 81
1911 63

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school in Hackthorn.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.