Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Colsterworth

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Colsterworth

Cemeteries

  • A Cemetery was formed in the hamlet of Woolsthorpe in 1880 for Non-conformists. It was under the direction of the parish council.

Census

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1890, after the Poor Law Union was reorganized, the parish was in the "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 616
1851 H.O. 107 / 2102
1861 R.G. 9 / 2347
1891 R.G. 12 / 2582
1871 R.G. 10 / 3355
1891 R.G. 12 / 2582

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Colsterworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint John the Baptist.
  • Some arches on the south side of the building are of Saxon origin.
  • Woolsthorpe hamlet once contained a Chapel of Ease, but this was no longer in use by 1842.
  • St. John's was restored in 1876.
  • St. John's seats 275.
  • J. HANNAN-BRIGGS has a photograph of St John the Baptist Church on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2013.
  • Here is a photo of St. John the Baptist's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Colsterworth St. John the Baptist Church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1561. (Kelly's 1900 Directory tells us 1572.)
  • The parish is also listed in Boyd's Marriage Index, covering the period from 1573 - 1837.
  • We have a partial register extract. Your additions are welcome.
  • There is also an online parish register, which is mostly burials and marriages.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Beltisloe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The parish at one time had a thriving Wesleyan Methodist chapel, first built in 1836. For more information on researching this chapel, see our non-conformist church records page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Colsterworth sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1890, after the Civil Registration District was reorganized, the parish was in the "Grantham South" sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Colsterworth is both a village and parish on the River Witham. Cringle Brook forms part of the western parish border. Across the Brook is Leicestershire. Colsterworth is just 2 miles south of the township of Easton. The parish includes the hamlets of Woolsthorpe and Twyford and covers about 2,700 acres.

Woolsthorpe hamlet is an ancient village, lying about a mile west of Colsterworth. It was here that Sir Isaac NEWTON reportedly saw an apple fall, circa 1665, giving rise to his theories on gravitation. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A1 motorway between Stamford and Grantham. The village is located where the A151 from Bourne intersects the motorway, about 8 miles south of Grantham.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Colsterworth which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Colsterworth has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • At the Manor House in Woolsthorpe, you'll find that Isaac Newton was born in the parish in the hamlet of Woolsthorpe on 25th December 1642. We have a short extract from a biography.
  • Claire WARD has a photograph of Woolsthorpe Manor on Geo-graph, taken in July 1993.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK930242 (Lat/Lon: 52.807316, -0.621785), Colsterworth which are provided by:

Military History

  • Ian YARHAM has a photograph of the War Memorial on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.

Military Records

There is a photograph of the war memorial and a list of the names on it at the Roll of Honour site.

There is a second set of memorials and a roll of honour at the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Colsterworth is from the Old English colestre+worth for "enclosure of the charcoal burners," the name appeared as Colsteuorde in the 1086 Domesday Book.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Winnibriggs and Threo Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • Around 1840, the Wapentake boundaries were changed and the parish was first moved to Loveden Wapentake. Later, it was in the Beltisloe Wapentake.
  • In April, 1965, the parish gave up 1 acre to enlarge Buckminster Civil Parish in Leicestershire.
  • The parish was also within the Soke of Grantham.
  • You can contact the Colsterworth and District Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed or funded to help you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
  • The parish erected almhouses for 4 poor widows of the parish in 1861.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 649
1831 899
1841 1,017
1851 1,345
1861 1,163
1871 1,068
1881 986
1891 894
1901 804
1911 789
1921 764
1931 824

Schools

  • A National School was built here in 1824 by Edmund TURNOR, who also bequeathed money for the school's heating and maintenance. The school was open to poor children from nearby parishes, but they had to pay a penny per week to the master.
  • An Infants' School was built here prior to 1900.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.