We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Corringham

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Willingham sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the Marton sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 631
1861 R.G. 9 / 2410
1871 R.G. 10 / 3448
1881 R.G. 11 / 3297
1891 R.G. 12 / 2636

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Corringham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church in Great Corringham is dedicated to Saint Lawrence.
  • The church here once belonged to the Templars.
  • The church underwent extensive repairs in 1849.
  • The church was completely restored in 1882-84.
  • The church seats 350.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St.Laurence's Church on Geo-graph, taken in 2006.
  • Richard CROFT also has a photograph inside the church chancel on Geo-graph, taken in 2008.
  • There is a photograph of the Anglican parish church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here are two photographs of St. Lawrence Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Lawrence Church

St. Lawrence Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1643.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Corringham Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The parish had a Wesleyan Methodist chapel, rebuilt in 1878. The Primitive Methodists built their chapel in 1858 and replaced it in 1910. For more on researching these chapel records, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Willingham sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • In an 1890 re-organization, the parish was reassigned to the Marton sub-district of the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Corringham is both a parish and two villages, Great Corringham and Little Corringham, which form one long village about two miles east of Gainsborough and nine miles south of Scunthorpe. The parish itself is bordered on the north by Pilham parish, on the east by Willoughton parish, to the south by Springthorpe parish. The parish covers 6,300 acres and includes the hamlets of Somerby, Dunstall and Yawthorpe.

The villages are between two branches of the River Eau. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A631 trunk road east out of Gainsborough and turn left at Corringham.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Corringham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Corringham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Roger GEACH has a photograph of The Beckett Arms on Geo-graph. taken in August, 2011.

Manors

  • Somerby Park is described in White's 1872 Directory as "a commodius ancient mansion, in the Elizabethan style."
  • Somerby Park is the ancestral home of the FAIRFAX family.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK870910 (Lat/Lon: 53.408640, -0.692688), Corringham which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Corringham gives its name to the Wapentake it is in, as well as to a deanery and a prependary.

Politics and Government

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • In 1724, William ASHWIN left £50 to purchase land for the poor.
  • In 1808, Sarah HILL left £5 to parcel out as 5 shillings per year to the poor.
  • In 1834, with the passage of the Poor Law Amendment, the parish became part of the Gainsborough Poor Law Union.
  • The Common Lands of about 2,800 acres were enclosed in 1851.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Gainsborough petty session hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 427
1831 559
1851 684
1861 717
1871 790
1881 744
1891 704
1901 566
1911 597
1921 546
1931 528
1951 448
1961 426

Schools

  • A National School was built here in 1868 and enlarged in 1875 to hold up to 130 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.