Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Creeton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Creeton

Cemeteries

  • St Peter, Church Lane, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 616
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2315
1871 R.G. 10 / 3311
1891 R.G. 12 / 2555

Churches

  • St Peter, Church Lane, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Creeton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter.
  • There are traces of a Saxon cross in the graveyard.
  • Bob HARVEY has a photograph of that Saxon Cross on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2010.
  • The church was thoroughly restored in 1851.
  • The church was partially rebuilt in 1853.
  • The church seats 100.
  • Tim HEATON has a photograph of St. Peter's Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2006.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2010.
  • Here are two photographs of St. Peter's Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Creeton St. Peter Church

Creeton St. Peter Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1692, although Bishop's transcripts go back to 1561.
  • The parish lies in the Beltisloe Deanery, for which several marriage indexes exist.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Corby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village, township and parish lie along the West Glen River about 8 miles north of Stamford and almost 4 miles south of Corby parish. It lies between Castle Bytham to the southwest and Edenham parish to the east. The hamlet of Counthorpe is just west of the village across the railroad tracks and is part of the parish. There are several Counthorpe hamlets in this part of Lincolnshire.

The parish encompasses only 1003 acres. There are forested areas east of the village which include a deer park. If you are planning a visit:

  • The village has its own Information Portal telling you what is going on in the area.
  • By automobile: the B1176 trunk road bisects the parish.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Creeton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Creeton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • The quarry in Creeton parish extracts Jurassic limestone. It is also the site of ancient iron smelting, perhaps by the Romans.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF015199 (Lat/Lon: 52.767143, -0.497064), Creeton which are provided by:

Military Records

There is a photograph of the memorial plaque and the single name on it at the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Creeton is from the Old English Creata+tun, or "farmstead of a man called Creata". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is given as Cretone.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Beltisloe Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In 1860, Counthorpe, formerly a hamlet to Castle Bytham, was annexed to Creeton parish.
  • In April, 1931, the existing Civil Parish was abolished to create a new Civil Parish of Counthorpe and Creeton.
  • The citizens of this parish have elected to forgo a formal parish council. Instead, they hold periodic Parish Meetings to discuss civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed or funded to help you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be tried in the Bourne Petty Session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish of Creeton became part the Bourne Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 62
1831 66
1841 64
1871 88
1881 51
1891 75
1901 66
1991 116

Schools

  • The children of Creeton attended school in Counthorpe in the 19th century, but now attend school south of town at a facility halfway to Little Bytham.
  • Creeton village formed a School Board district which also included Little Bytham and Counthorpe.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.