Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dembleby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dembleby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 617
1851 H.O. 107 / 2100
1861 R.G. 9 / 2343
1871 R.G. 10 / 3350
1891 R.G. 12 / 2579

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dembleby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Lucia (St. Lucy).
  • The old church was taken down in 1867. The new church was built upon a better site in the Norman style. The vestry in the new church was transported from the old church.
  • The new church was consecrated in January, 1868.
  • The church seats 60, 1868.
  • A photograph of Saint Lucia Church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

Dembleby Saint Lucia Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1553.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1763 to 1812 and Marriages from 1767 to 1811.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Dembleby is both a village and a parish, 9 miles north-east of Grantham and just west of the A15 trunk road. The parish covers about 1,100 acres.

The village is listed as "ancient" in an 1842 White's Directory. A small rivulet runs through the village coming down from Aunsby. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take either the A15 south from Sleaford or the A52 east out of Grantham.
  • >See the Lincolnshire Touring and Holidays page on this site.
You can see pictures of Dembleby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dembleby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Although a sparsely populated parish, Dembleby was the source of excellent limestone from a quarry in the parish.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF040370 (Lat/Lon: 52.920334, -0.454577), Dembleby which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire lists the parish as being in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the North Kesteven district.
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished and amalgamated into the new Aunsby and Dembleby Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 50
1841 58
1851 84
1871 78
1881 72
1891 55
1901 51
1911 73
1921 52

Schools

  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.