Dembleby
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1841 |
H.O. 107 / 617 |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2100 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Lucia.
- The old church was taken down in 1867. The new church was built upon a better site in the Norman style. The vestry in the new church was transported from the old church.
- A photograph of Saint Lucia Church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish registers date from 1763.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1763 to 1812 and Marriages from 1767 to 1811.
- The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Dembleby is both a village and a parish, 9 miles east of Grantham and just west of the A15 trunk road. The parish covers about 1,100 acres.
The village is listed as "ancient" in an 1842 White's Directory. A small rivulet runs through the village coming down from Aisby. If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, take either the A15 south from Sleaford or the A52 east out of Grantham.
- >See the Lincolnshire Touring and Holidays page on this site.
- Although a sparsely populated parish, Dembleby was the source of excellent limestone from a quarry in the parish.
- The national grid reference is TF 0437.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
50 |
| 1841 |
58 |
| 1871 |
78 |
| 1911 |
73 |
- See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 24-June-2008 - Louis R. Mills]