Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Donington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • A Cemetery was set aside by the parish council in 1900. It is just off BICKER Road (The A52).
  • The Cemetery was closed for burials in 2000. A "New Cemetery" was laid out off Hunter Way and the cemetery above became the "Old Cemetery".
  • You can search for ancestors in the Old Cemetery on Internment.Net.
  • You can search for ancestors in the New Cemetery on Internment.Net.


  • The parish was in the Donington sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 606
1851 H.O. 107 / 2096
1861 R.G. 9 / 2321
1871 R.G. 10 / 3319
1881 R.G. 11 / 3201
1891 R.G. 12 / 2560


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Donington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican church is dedicated to Saint Mary and the Holy Rood.
  • The church is from the 13th century.
  • The churchyard was enlarged in 1865.
  • The church seats 743.
  • There is a photograph of St. Mary and the Holy Rood Church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
  • J. HANNAH-BRIGGS has a photograph of St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2012.
  • Here are two photographs of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

Saint Mary's Church

Saint Mary's Church

  • There are more photographs in and around the church at the Sheila W-Bruce web site.

Church Records

  • The Anglican church parish registers exist from 1642.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Holland West Deanery.
  • The parish boasted chapels for Particular Baptists and for Wesleyan and Primitive Methodists. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • There is a photograph of one of the Methodist chapels on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2007.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Donington sub-district of the Spalding Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Donington (sometimes "Donnington") is both a village, a market town and a parish. It lies 110 miles north of London, 10 miles north of Spalding and 10 miles to the southwest of Boston. The parish is bounded on the north by Bicker parish and on the south by Quadring parish. The parish covers over 5,800 acres and includes the hamlet of Northorpe. The area is flat fenland, drained by many small canals.

The nearby "Forty Foot Drain" used to be an important route for barge trade to Boston.

The village lies just off the A52 trunk road. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Donington which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Donington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Market Day used to be held on Saturday and there were agricultural fairs held on May 25th and October 17th.
  • Wikes Farm used to be the only Heronry in this part of England. The Herons would arrive in February and depart in September.
  • The most famous son of Donington was Capt. Matthew FLINDERS (1775 - 1814). Born in Donington, he died in London. He was the driving force behind getting the name Australia adopted for what was then known as New Holland.
  • Rodney BURTON has a photograph of Mathew FLINDER's statue on Geo-graph, taken in July, 2006.
  • The parish had a railway station on Donington Road. In 1900, Alfred MARJASON was the station master.
  • A police station was erected here in 1859. In 1911, inspector John William MOORE ran the station along with one other officer.


  • Park House, the seat of Richard GLEAD in 1911, is the stone manor house of Donington.


  • The national grid reference is TF 2035.
  • You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer 249 map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF208359 (Lat/Lon: 52.906939, -0.205230), Donington which are provided by:

Military History

  • One of the windows in the parish church is a memorial to the men who fell in World War I.
  • A local resident, Company Srgt.-Major Charles Ernest STOVIN of the East Yorks Rifles was promoted to Captain in 1916 "for honours in the field". He was to marry in nearby Bicker parish in 1917.

Military Records

The Old Cemetery has one Commonwealth War Grave from World War I and 4 from World War II. They are for:

  1. William Jabez THOMPSON, priv., Austrailian Inf., age 45, died 24 Nov. 1917.
  2. Harold William DODS, lieut., Scots Guards, age 35, died 18 June 1944.
  3. Harold FORMAN, priv., RAMC, age 45, died 2 Dec. 1946.
  4. William Henry PATTISON, petty officer, RN, died 6 Mar. 1945.
  5. Walter Richard WINDSOR, srgt., RAF Vol Rsv., age 26, died 10 Jan. 1944.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Donington is from the Old English duning+tun, or "Estate of Dunna". In the 1086 Domesday book, the village is given as Duninctune.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
  • Locals refer to the village as "Donny".

Names, Personal

Chris WILSHAW provides this list of surnames from christenings found in the 1730 parish register:

  • HALL

Politics and Government

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Kirton and Skirbeck petty session hearings (held in the local courthouse the last Thursday of each month).
  • The parish was funded for an almshouse, founded by Thomas COWLEY in 1701, but it was never built. The trustees of the money provided weekly stipends to each of sixteen old men and women.
  • Six boys were put out to apprentice at age 14 each year. At the expiration of their servitude, each was presented with a gratuity of £8.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spalding Poor Law Union.
  • In 1911, a fund set up by Enoch MILLSON produced an income of £350 per year. This money was distributed to the poor in the form of coal, food and pensions.


  Year  Inhabitants
1801 1,321
1811 1,528
1831 1,759
1851 1,867
1871 1,753
1891 1,547
1911 1,564


  • The parish contained a Charity School, founded by Thomas COWLEY in 1701.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.