Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dorrington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dorrington

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 617
1851 H.O. 107 / 2100
1861 R.G. 9 / 2342
1871 R.G. 10 / 3349
1891 R.G. 12 / 2577

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dorrington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saints James and John and was built on a hill overlooking the village.
  • The east wall of the church was rebuilt in 1330.
  • The church was restored in 1867.
  • The church seats 200.
  • The village had a small chapel of ease, but this was taken down in 1698. This chapel was appropriated to Shelford Priory in Nottinghamshire.
  • A photograph of Saints James and John Church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of Saints James and John Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saints James and John Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1653.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1654 to 1812 and Marriages from 1654 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here, built in 1832, then replaced in 1881. This chapel closed for worship in 1987.
  • There was also a Wesleyan Reform chapel. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Chris has a photograph of the Wesleyan Reform Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2013.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish are 5 miles north of Sleaford, on the B1188 trunk road. Digby parish lies to the north. The parish covers over 1,900 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Dorrington which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dorrington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Land and Property

  • In 1841, the Earl of Harrowby was lord of the manor and owner of most of the land in the parish.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF070520 (Lat/Lon: 53.054534, -0.405016), Dorrington which are provided by:

Military Records

There are war memorial plaques in the Anglican church and in the Wesleyan Reform church as well. All have names on them.

There is a list of the names from the plaques and the Rolls of Honour at the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The parish name is often found as "Dirrington".

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • You may contact the Dorrington Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1789 (one source gives 1878).
  • The poor of the parish had an allotment of 13 acres.
  • Mrs. FARMER and Mrs. KAYE each left £100, the interest to be given to the poor.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 225
1841 379
1871 495
1881 398
1891 366
1901 357
1911 360
1921 410

Schools

  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a school here prior to 1842.
  • The parish had a National School here prior to 1900 that could hold 85 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.