- Dowsby parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
||H.O. 107 / 617
||H.O. 107 / 2095
||R.G. 9 / 2316
||R.G. 10 / 3312
||R.G. 12 / 2556
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
- Some portions of the building appear to be from the early Norman period, around 1400.
- The church was thoroughly restored and partially rebuilt in 1864.
- The church seats only about 140 people.
- There is a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
- John BLAKESTON has a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2011.
- Here are two photographs of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):
- The Anglican church parish registers exist from 1670.
- Dowsby was in the Aveland and Ness Deanery. You may wish to purchase some of the Deanery marriage indexes.
- Wikipedia tells us that the church is now in the Lafford Deanery.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.
Dowsby is both a town and a parish six miles north of Bourne. Rippingale parish lies to the south. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border. East Graby is a hamlet in this parish, near the Aslackby parish border. The parish covers about 1,820 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- By automobile, the A15 trunk road, formerly known as the "Great Road from London to Lincoln," passes down the west side of the parish.
- There is only once-a-week bus service at last report (2011) on Kimes Busses to Bourne. See our transport page for more information.
- The nearest pub is in Aslackby.
- See our touring page for more sources.
- The Hoe Hills are a group of round barrows dating back to the Bronze Age.
- Roman and Medieval finds have been made in the parish.
- Dowsby Hall is a fine Elizabethan mansion of stone.
- The national grid reference is TF 1129.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The clock on the church tower was added as a war memorial for World War I.
- Thre is a stone tablet in the parish church recording the names of the men who fell in World War I.
- There's a single World War II grave in the churchyard shown at Traces of War.
The Commonwealth War Grave in St. Andrew's churchyard is for:
- Alexander Arthur JOLLY, srgt., RAF Vol. Rsv., age 22, 12 Aug 1944. Son of Alexander and Clarice JOLLY of Culverthorpe.
For a list of the names of the men who died in World War I, see the Jamie and Sue site.
- The name Dowsby is from the Old Scandinavian Dusi+by, for "farmstead of Dusi", appearing in the 1086 Domesday Book as Dusebi.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
- This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
- For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.
- After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
- A Public Elementary School was built here in 1864 to hold up to 65 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
[Last updated: 24-February-2015 - Louis R. Mills]