Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dunholme

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dunholme

Cemeteries

  • St Chad, Holm Lane, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 632
1861 R.G. 9 / 2363
1871 R.G. 10 / 3376
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dunholme area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Chad.
  • The church is in the Early English style, which implies a Saxon origin.
  • The church was restored in 1856.
  • The church was partially restored in 1902 when an organ chamber and vestry were added.
  • The church seats 220.
  • Here is a photo of Saint Chad's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saint Chad's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1582.
  • The Lincolnshire Archive Office has the parish register from 1581 to 1812.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1564 to 1812 and Marriages from 1564 to 1811.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The United (Free) Methodists had a chapel here prior to 1913. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Dunholme is both a village and a parish north-east of the city of Lincoln. Welton parish lies to the north and Scothern parish to the south. The parish covers 2,261 acres.

The large village of Dunholme almost merges with Welton village to the north. If you are planning a visit:

  • Check out the village website to become familiar with the place.
  • Be careful when crossing the beck that flows through the village. The ducks have the right-of-way.
  • Take the A46 north-east out of Lincoln. It passes along the south edge of Dunholme village.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Dunholme which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dunholme has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dunholme to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF020790 (Lat/Lon: 53.298130, -0.470982), Dunholme which are provided by:

Military History

  • The RAF had a grass landing strip here in 1941 and 1942 used as an emergency strip by aircraft from RAF Scampton.
  • In September, 1942, the RAF gave the airfield official designation as RAF Dunholme Lodge. By May, 1943, it was a full station under 5 Group Bomber Command.
  • During World War II, over 120 Lancaster bombers from this field were lost in combat operations.
  • Flight operations ceased here on 30 November 1944, mostly due to having too many airfields in the vacinity causing some confusion for aircrews. The field became a glider storage area until the end of the war.
  • The RAF closed the field in 1945.
  • The field re-opened in 1959 as a Bloodhound surface-to-air (SAM) missile site.
  • The missile site closed in 1964.
  • The war memorial is a tall stone cross on a plinth in a traffic circle in the village.

Military Records

There are war memorial plaques in St. Chad's Church.

There is a list of the names from the plaques and the Roll of Honour in the church at the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • Locals refer to the place as "Dunnam". [Jean Pryde]
  • "Dunholm" is accepted as an alternate spelling of the parish name.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were establ;ished.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You may contact the local Dunholme Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The poor of this parish had a small distribution of £1 and 8 shillings (1900) derived from land in this parish.
  • In 1616, Robert GRANTHAM left a yearly charity of £1 and coats to 10 Bedesmen in this parish and in Sudbrooke and Scothern.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Reform Act of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bail and Close (Lincoln) petty sessional hearings.
  • The Lincolnshire Archive Office has the Croft and Hanson Charity distributions from 1943-1959.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 140
1831 237
1841 310
1851 411
1871 450
1881 403
1891 336
1901 289
1911 323
1921 298
1931 394

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was built here in 1862 for 82 children.
  • The Lincolnshire Archive Office has the school managers' minute book for 1903 thru 1952.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.