Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Dunsby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Dunsby

Cemeteries

Census

  • This parish was part of the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 617
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2316
1871 R.G. 10 / 3313
1891 R.G. 12 / 2556

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Dunsby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • All Saints Church has portions dating to the 13th Century, although the tower and most of the structure is from the 14th Century.
  • The church was restored in 1857.
  • The church seats 170.
  • John BLAKESTON has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2011.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Dunsby All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican church parish registers exist from 1538.
  • Dunsby is in the Aveland and Ness Deanery. You may wish to purchase some of the Deanery marriage indexes.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July 1837.

Description and Travel

Dunsby is both a town and a parish 4 miles northeast of Bourne. The A15 trunk road, formerly known as the "Great Road from London to Lincoln," passes down the west side of the parish. Hacconby parish lies to the south, Rippingale parish to the north. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border. The Carr Dyke runs through the parish. The parish covers over 2,670 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Dunsby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Dunsby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Dunsby to another place.

Manors

  • Dunsby Hall was the residence of Thomas PICK in 1900.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF105268 (Lat/Lon: 52.827382, -0.361398), Dunsby which are provided by:

Military Records

For a list of the names of the men who died in World War I, see the Jamie and Sue site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Dunsby is from the Old English Dun+by, for "farmstead of Dun(n)", appearing in the 1086 Domesday Book as Dunesbi.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish of Lincolnshire and became a Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district and parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases were heard in the Bourne petty session hearings on Mondays.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 146
1831 172
1841 195
1871 200
1881 223
1891 193
1901 256
1911 280
1921 260
1931 211

Schools

  • The parish built a National School here in 1855 that could hold 50 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.