Dunsby
Note: There is also a Dunsby hamlet in Braunswell parish, northwest of Sleaford.
- This parish was part of the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2095 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2316 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3313 |
| 1891 |
R.G. 12 / 2556 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- All Saints Church has portions dating to the 13th Century, although the tower and most of the structure is from the 14th Century.
- The church was restored in 1857.
- The church seats 170.
- Here is a photo of the church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican church parish registers exist from 1538.
- Dunsby is in the Aveland and Ness Deanery. You may wish to purchase some of the Deanery marriage indexes.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Aslackby sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July 1837.
Dunsby is both a town and a parish 4 miles northeast of Bourne. The A15 trunk road, formerly known as the "Great Road from London to Lincoln," passes down the west side of the parish. Hacconby parish lies to the south, Rippingale parish to the north. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border. The Carr Dyke runs through the parish. The parish covers over 2,670 acres.
If you are planning a visit:
- Dunsby Hall was the residence of Thomas PICK in 1900.
- The national grid reference is TF 1026.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has 2.5 inches to the mile scale.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Dunsby is from the Old English Dun+by, for "farmstead of Dun(n)", appearing in the 1086 Domesday Book as Dunesbi.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991].
- This place was an ancient parish of Lincolnshire and became a Civil Parish when those were established.
- The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district and parts of Kesteven.
- For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.
- As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
146 |
| 1831 |
172 |
| 1841 |
195 |
| 1871 |
200 |
| 1881 |
223 |
| 1891 |
193 |
| 1901 |
256 |
| 1911 |
280 |
| 1921 |
260 |
| 1931 |
211 |
- The parish built a National School here in 1855 that could hold 50 students.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 4-December-2012 - Louis R. Mills]