We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

East Firsby

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 633
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3376
1891 R.G. 12 / 2596

Church Records

  • The parish was without a church in 1883, but the parish registers date from 1717. The church had been dedicated to St. James and was reputedly in West Firsby.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Bolingbroke Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

East and West Firsby are a village and a parish north of the city of Lincoln. Saxby parish lies to the west and Spridlington parish to the south. Market Rasen is 9 miles to the east.

East Firsby is both a township and a parish, covering about 544 acres. West Firsby is a lordship and a parish, covering about 682 acres. West Firsby was principally one large farm, owned and operated by the SWAM family during the late 1800's and early 1900's. West Firsby is considered the "oldest" of the two villages. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A15 trunk road north out of Lincoln. The village is about seven miles outside of Lincoln, but is not marked on most Ordnance Survey motoring maps.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of East Firsby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which East Firsby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF000850 (Lat/Lon: 53.352425, -0.499089), East Firsby which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry and parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bail and Close (Lincoln) petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

     Year  East
Firsby
 West
Firsby
1801 52
1841 87
1871 40 55
1881 33 41
1891 18 47
1911 31 51

Schools