Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Evedon

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Evedon

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, after a district re-organization, this parish became part of the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 618
1861 R.G. 9 / 2345
1871 R.G. 10 / 3352
1891 R.G. 12 / 2579

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Evedon area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
  • The church was reduced in size in 1809 by taking down the north aisle.
  • The church was restored in 1898.
  • The church seats about 70 people.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

St. St. Mary's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1562.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1729 to 1812 and Marriages from 1729 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Heckington sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, after a district re-organization, this parish became part of the Sleaford sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Evedon is both a village and a parish, just 2 miles east of Sleaford. Kirkby la Thorpe parish is just to the south. The parish is on a rise above the River Slea and covers just over 1,300 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A17 trunk road east out of Sleaford and turn north at Kirkby la Thorpe.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Evedon which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Evedon has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Evedon to another place.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF090470 (Lat/Lon: 53.009202, -0.376877), Evedon which are provided by:

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division in the parts of Kesteven.
  • The parish was moved to the Flaxwell Wapentake in the North Kesteven district around 1835.
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished and amalgamated into the new Ewerby and Evedon Civil Parish.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 86
1841 91
1871 71
1881 73
1891 90
1901 80
1911 78
1921 81

Schools

  • In 1840, the parish was entitled to send children to Sleaford Grammar School. Two children were allowed to go to Ewerby parish school.
  • Later, the children of this parish attended schools in Ewerby and Kirkby-la-Thorpe.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.