Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Fenton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Fenton

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 618
1851 H.O. 107 / 2120
1861 R.G. 9 / 2482
1891 R.G. 12 / 2716

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Fenton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church dates back to the 14th century.
  • The church chancel was rebuilt in 1830.
  • The building was thoroughly restored in 1875.
  • The church seats 150 persons.
  • A photograph of All Saints is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here are 2 photos of All Saints Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints Church

All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1537 and the Bishop's transcripts start in 1544.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1544 to 1812 and Marriages from 1538 to 1809.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Fenton is a parish and village just 6 miles ESE of Newark on Trent and 3 miles due south of Beckingham parish. Stubton parish lies to the south. The parish covers about 1,230 acres of low, marshy land.

Note: There is a hamlet of Fenton in Kettlethorpe parish near Gainsborough.

The small village of Fenton lies between two small tributaries that drain into the River Witham. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A17 trunk road east out of Newark or west from Sleaford. Turn south at Beckingham.
  • Mind the ducks as you pass through the village.
  • Bob DANYLEC has a nice photograph of the Village Duck Pond on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2005.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Fenton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Fenton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Fenton to another place.

History

Land and Property

  • The principal landowners in 1871 were Richard LUCAS, Sir Richard FREDERICK, baronet, Mr. Henry GILBERT and the Rev. George MARSLAND.
  • In 1913, Stafford Vere HOTCHKIN of Woodhall Spa and Col. Henry William LOWRY-CORRY of Suffolk were the principal landowners.

Manors

  • Fenton Hall was built in 1507 as the seat of the LUCAS family. It partially burnt down about 1771 and its remains converted into a farm house, occupied by the THURLBY family in the late 1800's and by the CODD family in the early 1900's.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK870510 (Lat/Lon: 53.049173, -0.703593), Fenton which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Fenton is from the Old English fenn+tun, or "farmstead in a fen or marsh". In 1212, the village is name is given as Fentun.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

Here are the surnames found in White's 1872 Directory of Lincolnshire:

HALL, JENKINSON, MARSLAND, RIPLEY, ROSS, WILKINSON and THURLBY.

Here's a partial list of surnames found in Kelly's 1913 Directory:

CODD, COUSINS, PICKETT.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient Chapelry in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish shortly after those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • The citizens of this small parish have elected to forgo a formal Parish Council and instead have periodic Parish Meetings to discuss civic and political issues.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate petty session hearings.
  • In the 1800s, Mrs. LUCAS left the interest on £150 with the church to be distributed in coal to the poor of the parish.
  • The "Blackmiles" charity, left by an anonymous donor, also contributed to the poor of the parish.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 84
1841 120
1871 87
1881 84
1891 76
1911 52

Schools

  • There is no record of a school being built at Fenton.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.