Fenton
- The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
- The church dates back to the 14th century. The building was thoroughly restored in 1875.
- The church seats about 150 persons.
- A photograph of All Saints is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here are 2 photos of All Saints Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):


- The parish register dates from 1537 and the Bishop's transcripts start in 1544.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1544 to 1812 and Marriages from 1538 to 1809.
- The LFHS has published several marriage indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Claypole sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Fenton is a parish and village just 6 miles ESE of Newark on Trent and 3 miles due south of Beckingham parish. Stubton parish lies to the south. The parish covers about 1,230 acres of low, marshy land.
Note: There is a hamlet of Fenton in Kettlethorpe parish near Gainsborough.
The small village of Fenton lies between two small tributaries that drain into the River Witham. If you are planning a visit:
- Take the A17 trunk road east out of Newark or west from Sleaford. Turn south at Beckingham.
- Visit our touring page for more sources.
- The principal landowners in 1871 were Richard LUCAS, Sir Richard FREDERICK, baronet, Mr. Henry GILBERT and the Rev. George MARSLAND.
- In 1913, Stafford Vere HOTCHKIN of Woodhall Spa and Col. Henry William LOWRY-CORRY of Suffolk were the principal landowners.
- Fenton Hall was built in 1507 as the seat of the LUCAS family. It partially burnt down about 1771 and its remains converted into a farm house, occupied by the THURLBY family in the late 1800's and by the CODD family in the early 1900's.
- The national grid reference is SK 8750.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The name Fenton is from the Old English fenn+tun, or "farmstead in a fen or marsh". In 1212, the village is name is given as Fentun.
[A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
Here are the surnames found in White's 1872 Directory of Lincolnshire:
HALL, JENKINSON, MARSLAND, RIPLEY, ROSS, WILKINSON and THURLBY.
Here's a partial list of surnames found in Kelly's 1913 Directory:
CODD, COUSINS, PICKETT.
- In the 1800s, Mrs. LUCAS left the interest on £150 with the church to be distributed in coal to the poor of the parish.
- The "Blackmiles" charity, left by an anonymous donor, also contributed to the poor of the parish.
- After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
84 |
| 1841 |
120 |
| 1871 |
87 |
| 1881 |
84 |
| 1891 |
76 |
| 1911 |
52 |
- There is no record of a school being built at Fenton.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 7-November-2008 - Louis R. Mills]