Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Fiskerton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.




  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 633
1861 R.G. 9 / 2537
1871 R.G. 10 / 3369
1891 R.G. 12 / 2589


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Fiskerton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Clement of Rome.
  • Some parts of the structure date from the 11th century.
  • The church was restored in 1863.
  • The church seats 220 people.
  • The church is a Grade I listed building with British Heritage.
  • Here is a photo of St. Clement Church, taken by (and copyright of) Wendy PARKINSON.

Fiskerton parish church

  • Here is a photo of St. Clement of Rome Church, taken by (and copyright of) Ron COLE.

Fiskerton St. Clement church

  • And another view of the church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints parish church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register's entries date from 1539.
  • The parish Bishop's Transcripts are missing for 1788-1792.
  • The Lincolnshire Archives have register copies on fiche for bapt. 1539-1863; burials 1539-1906 and marriages 1539-1842.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1539 to 1812 and Marriages from 1539 to 1811.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a Wesleyan Methodist chapel built here in 1839. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This parish is just 5 miles east of Lincoln parish and city and south of Reepham parish. The parish covers just over 2,800 acres.

The River Witham flows past the south side of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A158 trunk road and follow the signs for Reepham. The village will be just south of Reepham.
  • Check for bus service from the Linconshire Road Car Company of Lincoln.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Fiskerton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Fiskerton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • Fiskerton had a station on the Great Northern Railway known as "Five Mile House".
  • In 1826, the vicar had inscribed in the parish register: "In 1826 the driest Summer known for the last 20 years conduit water taken from Lincoln to Boston = no rain from April Fair 28th to the 26th of June, the river was deepened this summer, packets [small cargo vessels] went to Boston by the drain [man-made water course to drain the fenlands]: prayer for rain during Hay harvest." [Liz DAVIES]


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF040720 (Lat/Lon: 53.234842, -0.443271), Fiskerton which are provided by:

Military History

  • The RAF opened an airfield here in early 1943.
  • Initially, the field was a satellite airfield to "RAF Scampton".
  • The Peenemude raid was launched from this airfield in August, 1943.
  • The RAF closed the field in late 1945.
  • Portions of the runways remain, but most of the structures are gone.
  • The Royal Observer Corps used the facility from 1960 to 1992. Photographs of the Observer Corps and buildings give a better understanding of their work here.

Military Records

Click to see photographs of the Fiskerton War Memorial(s).

For a photograph of the Fiskerton Memorial Plaques in the church and a list of the names on them, see the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The Fiskerton Parish Council welcomes your comments on civic and political issues, but is unable to do family history lookups for you.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln (Bail and Close) petty session hearings.
  • In 1676, Robert HODGSON started a charity with the gift of 10 acres of land, which, with later contributions by others, grew to about £24, which was distributed each week to the poor as bread.
  • Robert PARKINSON left 12 Shillings per year as a dole which was given as bread to the poor each St. Thomas' Day.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 270
1831 330
1841 410
1851 463
1871 515
1881 440
1891 423
1901 386
1911 399
1921 376


  • In 1860, a National School was built, replacing an earlier school. This facility was enlarged in 1904 to hold 120 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.