Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Friskney

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Friskney

Cemeteries

  • Several Celtic graves have been found in the parish.
  • Friskney Cemetery is on Church Lane just west of the village centre. The cemetery was laid out prior to 1920.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Friskney Cemetery on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2006.

Census

  • The parish was in the Wainfleet sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the census returns for this parish in 1841 and 1881.
  • We have a surname list from the 1901 Census in a text file. It is far from complete. Your additions are welcome.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 633
1851 H.O. 107 / 2109
1861 R.G. 9 / 2373
1871 R.G. 10 / 3388
1881 R.G. 11 / 3254
1891 R.G. 12 / 2602
1901 R.G. 13 / 3074

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Friskney area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Church History has been moved to a separate page. It includes three photographs of the parish church.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1559.
  • We have the beginnings of a parish register extract in a text file. Your additions are welcome.
  • To see which LFHS special indexes exist, check the Calcewaith & Candleshoe Deanery.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had two chapels in the parish in the 19th century. The one in the Fen was built in 1836. The Eaudyke one was built in 1839. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Wainfleet sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Friskney is both a village and a parish that lie on the sea coast 120 miles north of London, on the A52 trunk road north out of Boston, about 14 miles distant. Wainfleet St. Mary parish forms the northern border and the North Sea the eastern boundary. The parish is low-lying salt marsh, about 7,000 acres of reclaimed tidal flats and a part of the area known as "The Fens". Friskney Flats is a large sand bank off shore. Key's Toft and part of Wainfleet Bank are in the parish.

Some important points about the village of Friskney:

  • The village of Friskney is home of the Fenbank Greyhound Sanctuary, a group that finds homes for these fine racing hounds.
  • The Friskney Decoy Wood at TF 4657 is a woodland preserve. For a description of the "decoy" process, read the Duck Decoymen of Friskney by Patrick Lambe.
  • There is an active Friskney Bowmen Archery Club headquartered at Hansard House on Church Road (PostCode=PE22 8RF, phone 01754 820606).
  • If you are planning a visit, check out our touring page.
You can see pictures of Friskney which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Friskney has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Friskney to another place.

History

  • The parish was a major producer of cranberries in the 18th century.
  • In 1802, several sections of a Roman aqueduct were uncovered.
  • In the 19th century, as many as 30,000 head of various wildfowl were taken for the London market.
  • Friskney had a police station by 1912, Harry SHELBORN was the constable then.

Manors

  • Friskney Hall stood about a half mile south-west of the church.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF460550 (Lat/Lon: 53.072263, 0.177827), Friskney which are provided by:

Military History

  • On 17 Nov 1942 a Lancaster bomber crash-landed on the flat coast near the village. The crew survived.
  • Jennie provides this story from her mother (Jun 2005):
My Mum was born and lived in Friskney until she married my Dad and moved away from Lincolnshire. On a visit a few weeks ago to one of her brothers who still lives there, his wife was telling us about the special service which had recently been held in the village in memory of 3 people who died when a plane crashed into their house one night during the war. Mum said "Oh, yes, I remember that." Apparently, Mum had seen it happen. She was cycling home from a dance in the village hall and saw the plane fly over and narrowly miss her own home. It went on over the fields but made a direct hit on a house in the village killing a husband and wife and their young daughter. Mum was so upset by what had happened, that she lost her balance and fell off her bike into the dyke, knocking herself unconscious for a couple of minutes! My Mum used to work for the Post office delivering telegrams during the war.

Military Records

The war memorial stands outside the church. To see it and the names on the wall, see the Roll of Honour site.

Click here to see a transcription of the Friskney War Memorial.

There are three Commonwealth War Graves in Friskney Cemetery. One from WWI and two from World War II.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Friskney is from the Old English fresc+an+ea, or "river with fresh water". The name is Frischenei in the 1086 Domesday book.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]
  • The parish is also known as Friskney-Bolington.

Names, Personal

  • The Surname FRISKNEY is said to be "peculiar" to (i.e. "originates in") Lincolnshire, probably around the 12th century.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Marsh division of the Candleshoe Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.
  • Some Directories show the parish in the East Holland District. Kelly's 1913 Directory places the parish in the South Lindsey division of the county.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spilsby petty session hearings every other week.
  • From time immemorial the parish has set aside about 48 acres of land for charitable uses, which were let to the poor in allotments of about one acre each.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 691
1831 1,457
1851 1,659
1871 1,668
1881 1,477
1891 1,373
1911 1,373
1991 1,372
2001 1,453

Schools

  • There were four church schools in the parish by 1872. There was a school for infants at Eaudyke and at Fen, built in 1871, on land given respectively by Mr. MOWBRAY and Mr. HODSON.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.