Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Gedney Hill

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Gedney Hill

Archives and Libraries



  • Gedney Hill was part of the Holbeach sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, Gedney Hill became part of the new Gedney Hill sub-district within the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 607
1851 H.O. 107 / 2097
1861 R.G. 9 / 2326
1871 R.G. 10 / 3326 - 3329
1881 R.G. 11 / 3207
1891 R.G. 12 / 2566


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Gedney Hill area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • Originally a chapelry in Gedney parish, it became its own parish centuries ago.
  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity.
  • The church stands on some high ground in this other-wise flat parish.
  • Portions of the church have been traced to the 14th century.
  • The church was restored in 1874-75.
  • The church seats 300.
  • Here is a photo of Holy Trinity Church taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

Holy Trinity church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1693, but Bishop's transcript entries go back to 1562.
  • Check the East Elloe Deanery page to see which indexes are available.
  • The General Baptists had a chapel at Gedney Hill, built in 1883. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • Gedney Hill was part of the Holbeach sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, Gedney Hill became part of the new Gedney Hill sub-district within the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Gedney Hill (sometimes called "Fen End") is both a village and parish about 96 miles north of London, about 7 miles west of Wisbech off the A47 trunk road, 14 miles south-east of Spalding and 10 miles south of Holbeach. Fleet parish lies to the west and Sutton St Edmund parish to the east. The Old South Eau Drain forms the southern border, with Cambridgeshire just across the canal. The area is marshy Fenland, drained by many small canals and the South Holland Main Drain. The parish encompasses just under 1,900 acres.

If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the B1166 arterial road east out of Market Deeping. This passes through the village of Gedney Hill.
  • The village railway station closed many years ago.
  • The Gedney Hill Golf Club course was designed and built in 1989. The course is tougher than it looks due to the Fen winds.
  • Richard HUMPREY has a photograph of the village sign on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2011.
  • Visit our touring page for visitor services.
You can see pictures of Gedney Hill which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Gedney Hill has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • A Fair was held on the second Monday in June.
  • The village Memorial Hall was first built in 1921. In 2001, the old Hall was torn down and a replacement constructed with new memorial plaques (see Military Records).
  • Jonathan BILLINGER has a photograph of the Duke's Head Pub. on Highstock Lane on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2006.
  • These are the names associated with the Duke's Head in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 James JACKSON, vict.
1872 Samuel SEATON, farmer & victualler
1882 Saml. SEATON, farmer & vict.
1900 Saml. SEATON, farmer
1913 Jesse SEATON
1930 Jesse SEATON


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF330110 (Lat/Lon: 52.680351, -0.034051), Gedney Hill which are provided by:

Military Records

On plaques in front of War Memorial Hall are the names of those who fell in WWI and WWII. See the names at Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Gedney is from the Old English gaeda+eg, or "island of Gaeda".
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Elloe Wapentake in the South Holland district in the parts of Holland.
  • In August, 1882, Gedney Marsh was transfered to Gedney Civil Parish.
  • You may contact the Gedney Hill Parish Council regarding civic or political issues. They are NOT staffed to assist you with family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, visit the South Holland District Council site.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 265
1841 460
1851 537
1871 465
1881 344
1891 374
1901 323
1911 347
1921 375


  • The first formal school was built in Gedney Hill in 1860.
  • A Public Elementary School was built in Fleet Fen in 1871.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.