Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Glentham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Glentham

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Market Rasen sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 635
1851 H.O. 107 / 2115
1861 R.G. 9 / 2394
1871 R.G. 10 / 3424
1881 R.G. 11 / 3281
1891 R.G. 12 / 2623

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Glentham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter and Saint Paul.
  • Portions of the church structure date back to the reign of Henry VII.
  • The church tower was built in 1756.
  • The church was repaired in 1855.
  • The church was under repair in 2011.
  • The church has a List of Incumbents photographed by David HITCHBORNE in June, 2004.
  • The church seats 300.
  • A photograph of Saint Peter's church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St.Peter & St.Paul's church taken 18 February, 2006.
  • There is a photograph of the church interior at Geo-graph taken by David HITCHBORNE on 14 June, 2004.
  • There are photographs of the church interior at the Lincolshire Churches site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Peter and St. Paul's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Peter and St. Paul Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1690.
  • Glentham baptisms from 1692-1859 are on freereg.rootsweb.com.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1690 to 1812 and Marriages from 1690 to 1812.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a small Wesleyan Methodist chapel built here before 1871 and replaced in 1911. The Primitive Methodists had a chapel built here in 1876. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Market Rasen sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Glentham is both a village and parish 7.5 miles west of Market Rasen and 2.5 miles east of where Ermine Street (now the A15 trunk road) crosses the new A631 running east from Gainsborough. The parish covers over 2,200 acres and includes part of Bishop-Bridge on the village's side of the River Ancholme.

Glentham village is split by the A631, so it is easy to find. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A15 trunk road, north out of Lincoln for 14 miles and turn right (east) onto the A631 at Spittal.
  • Stop in at the Village Hall and get a schedule of current events. Photo by J. THOMAS, taken on 1 Sept., 2012.
  • See our touring page for area resources.
You can see pictures of Glentham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Glentham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • There is an ancient barrow in the parish.
  • Stop in at the 400-year-old Crown Inn. David WRITE has a photographs of the Crown Inn taken on 20 October, 2005.
  • These are the names associated with the Crown Inn in various directories:
Year  Person
1842 George SPARROW
1872 Richd. CLOUGH, corn mert.
1882 H. E. G. FEATHERBY, vict.
1900 Hewitt Edwd. G. FEATHERBY
1913 George Mardy MASSAM
1930 Tom BACKHOUSE

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF002903 (Lat/Lon: 53.400012, -0.494406), Glentham which are provided by:

Military History

  • The men who perished in the Great War of 1914-1918 are memorialized by teh clock mounted in the church tower in 1921.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of the war memorial plaques in the church taken 14 June, 2004.
  • The HMS Glentham (M2631) was named after this village. She was a Ham-class inshore minesweeper launched in 1957.

Military Records

Inside the church, on the north wall, are two marble plaques and a Roll of Honour. To see them and the names on them, see the Roll of Honour site.

David HITCHBORNE also has a photograph of the Roll of Honour in the church taken 14 June, 2004.

Captain Sir Montague Aubrey Rowley CHOLMELEY of this parish was killed in 1914.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the eastern division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You may contact the Glentham Parish Council regarding civic or political issues. They are NOT staffed to assist you with family history questions.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Caistor Poor Law Union.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln Bail and Close petty session hearings.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 258
1831 399
1841 477
1851 536
1871 424
1881 410
1891 369
1901 376
1911 351

Schools

  • A school board of 5 members was formed in February, 1876.
  • A school was built in the parish in 1877 to hold 91 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.