Glentham
- The parish was in the Market Rasen sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1851 |
H.O. 107 / 2115 |
| 1861 |
R.G. 9 / 2394 |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3424 |
| 1881 |
R.G. 11 / 3281 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul.
- Portions of the church structure date back to the reign of Henry VII.
- The church was reparied in 1855.
- The church seats 300.
- A photograph of Saint Peter and St. Paul's church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site.
- Here is a photo of St. Peter and St. Paul's Church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- The Anglican parish register dates from 1690.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1690 to 1812 and Marriages from 1690 to 1812.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
- There was a small Wesleyan Methodist chapel built here before 1871 and replaced in 1911. The Primitive Methodists had a chapel built here in 1876. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Market Rasen sub-district of the Caistor Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Glentham is both a village and parish 7.5 miles west of Market Rasen and 2.5 miles east of where Ermine Street (now the A15 trunk road) crosses the new A631 running east from Gainsborough. The parish covers over 2,200 acres and includes part of Bishop-Bridge on the village's side of the River Ancholme.
Glentham village is split by the A631, so it is easy to find. If you are planning a visit:
- Take the A15 trunk road, north out of Lincoln for 14 miles and turn right (east) onto the A631 at Spittal.
- See our touring page for area resources.
- The national grid reference is TF 0090.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The parish was in the eastern division of the ancient Aslacoe Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Caistor Poor Law Union.
- Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln Bail and Close petty sessional hearings.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
258 |
| 1831 |
399 |
| 1871 |
492 |
| 1891 |
369 |
| 1911 |
351 |
- A school board of 5 members was formed in February, 1876.
- A school was built in the parish in 1877 to hold 91 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 22-January-2009 - Louis R. Mills]