Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Greetwell

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Greetwell

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 635
1861 R.G. 9 / 2357
1871 R.G. 10 / 3369
1881 R.G. 11 / 3241
1891 R.G. 12 / 2589

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Greetwell area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church was thoroughly repaired in 1855-6.
  • The church is a small structure of white brick and ironstone.
  • The church seats only 36.
  • The church is a Grade II structure with English Heritage.
  • Terry BUTCHER has a photograph of Greetwell Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2006.
  • Here are two photos of All Saints Church, taken by (and copyright of) Ron COLE.

Greetwell All Saints church

Greetwell All Saints church 2

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1723.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms (none) and Marriages from 1755 to 1810.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Home sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This parish is just east of Lincoln parish and city and north of Canwick parish. The parish is on the River Witham and covers about 1,200 acres.

The village of Greetwell has been absorbed into the suburbs of Lincoln, however the village of North Greetwell sits on the Roman Road (now the A158 trunk road) that leads to Horncastle. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Greetwell which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Greetwell has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Greetwell to another place.

Manors

  • Greetwell Hall was the residence of William BOWSER in 1912.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF013715 (Lat/Lon: 53.230870, -0.483868), Greetwell which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Greetwell Roll of Honour and the names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The parish derives its name from the fine spring which greeted visitors on the way to Lincoln. The spring feeds into the River Witham.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The parish was part of the Lincoln Union and County Court district.
  • You can contact the local Greetwell Parish Council regarding civic or political issues. They are NOT staffed to assist you with family history questions.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln city Bail and Close petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 31
1831 42
1851 37
1871 49
1881 86
1891 93
1901 55
1911 74
1921 79
1931 253
1951 494
1971 353

Schools

  • The children of this parish attended school in Lincoln and Cherry Willingham.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.