We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Hacconby

Cemeteries

  • St Andrew, Church Street, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Bourne sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds a copy of the parish census returns for 1841 through 1901.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 619
1851 H.O. 107 / 2095
1861 R.G. 9 / 2317
1871 R.G. 10 / 3314
1891 R.G. 12 / 2557

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Hacconby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Church of Saint Andrew was built in the 14th century to replace an earlier church mentioned in the Domesday Book. The church was restored in 1900.
  • The spire was struck by lightning on 7 July 1877 and damaged.
  • The church seats 200 persons.
  • There was once a chapel of ease in Stainfield.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of The Church of St. Andrew on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2013.
  • John BLAKESTON has a photograph of St. Andrew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2011.
  • Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Andrew Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers exist from 1561. (Some sources give 1703.) Bishop's transcripts exist from 1561 through 1846.
  • Hacconby entries appear in the I.G.I. from 1561.
  • We have a partial Parish Register Extract as a pop-up text file. Your additions are welcomed.
  • Hacconby Burials 1813-1900 are included on the "Bourne Area Burials" fiche available from The Federation of Family History Societies.
  • The Baptists erected a chapel here in 1867. It was also used by the Primitive Methodists. The chapel is still in use. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Ian YARHAM has a photograph of the Baptist Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in September, 2011.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Bourne sub-district of the Bourne Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Hacconby (sometimes Haconby or Hackonby) is both a town and a parish three and a half miles northeast of Bourne. Morton parish lies to the south. The South Forty Foot Drain completes the eastern border. The parish covers about 2,600 acres.

The hamlet of Stainfield (Stenfield) lies in Hacconby parish, one mile west of the village. If you are planning a visit:

  • By automobile, take the A15 trunk road, formerly known as the "Great Road from London to Lincoln," which passes down the west side of the parish..
  • Visitors may wish to stop and visit the historic Hare and Hound pub.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Hacconby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Hacconby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Many Roman antiquities have been found here. Stainfield was reportedly once a Roman Station and the site of a mineral spring in use since antiquity.
  • In Roman times, Hacconby was prime sheep pasturage. Archeology reveals that up to 100,000 sheep were raised in the parish.
  • Bob HARVEY has a photograph of the village Chestnut tree. planted in 1897, on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.
  • Rex NEEDLE has a photograph of the Hare and Hounds Public Houseon Geo-graph, taken in October, 1999. The pub started out in 1617 as the Red Lion and later became the Sportsman before it assumed its present name.

Manors

  • Hacconby Hall, in 1913 the property of Thomas Whyment ATKINSON and the residence of Edward Claude GRIFFITH, is a stone house in the Jacobean style, although parts of it date from the Tudor period. It was built by General FYNNE, an aide-de-camp to Oliver CROMWELL. The general settled here after the great rebellion.
  • Bob HARVEY has a photograph of Haconby House. built in 1895, on Geo-graph, taken in August, 2014.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF107252 (Lat/Lon: 52.812964, -0.358973), Hacconby which are provided by:

Military History

  • The parish War Memorial is located inside St. Andrew's Church.

Military Records

For a list of the names of the men who died in World War I, see the Jamie and Sue site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Hacconby is from the Old Scandinavian Hakon+by, for "farmstead of Hakon", appearing in the 1086 Domesday Book as Hacunesbi.
    A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and it became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In the 20th century, the parish has merged with nearby Stainfield to become the "Hacconby and Stainfield Parish". You can contact the Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history research.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • In 1822, Henry FRYER left the dividends of £47, six Shillings and tupence for the poor of Stenfield.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Bourne Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 260
1831 381
1841 406
1871 453
1881 412
1891 363
1911 329

Schools

  • A school was first erected here in 1867 at a cost of 200 Pounds. It held up to 80 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.