We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Haxey

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Owston sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was allocated to the Misterton sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 636
1861 R.G. 9 / 2405
1871 R.G. 10 / 3440
1891 R.G. 12 / 2631

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Haxey area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
  • Portions of the church are of early Norman origin.
  • The church was extensively repaired in 1853-54 and the chancel restored in 1874.
  • The church seats 450.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of the church interior on Geo-graph, taken in 2004.
  • Here is a photo of the church, taken by (and copyright of) Wendy PARKINSON.

Haxey parish church

  • Here are two photos of Saint Nicholas Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saint Nicholas Church

Saint Nicholas Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers go back to 1559.
  • The Lincolnshire Family History Society has provided a marriage index for the Isle of Axholme Deanery to make your search easier.
  • There was a Wesleyan chapel built here in 1815 and a New Connection Methodist chapel built in 1855. The Primitive Methodists had a chapel here, too, before 1900. For information on these chapels check our Non-Conformist Church Records page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Owston sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was allocated to the Misterton sub-district in the Gainsborough Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

There is a description of Haxey provided by the Isle of Axholme FHS.

This village and parish lies 8 miles north-west of Gainsborough in the Isle of Axholme. Wroot parish and Nottinghamshire are just to the west, with Epworth parish to the north. The parish covers about 8,550 acres and includes the hamlets of Burnham, Upperthorpe, Nethergate, Newbigg, and Park.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village of Haxey is bisected by the B1396 as it travels west from the A161 trunk road.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Haxey which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Haxey has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Haxey is the ancient capital of the Isle of Axholme.
  • In 1741, the major part of the village was destroyed by a fire.
  • In the mid to late 1800's, Haxey had a station on the Great Northern Railway.
  • The King's Arms Public House on Low street has been a good spot to catch up on local news for a number of decades. In 1882, Wm. GRANT was the Victualler. In 1913, Lawrence G. LOWTHORPE was the proprietor.
  • The Carpenter's Arms Public House in Westwoodside has been the historic starting point for "The Hood" (see below). In 1913, Thomas ADCOCK was the proprietor.
  • The Duke William Commercial Hotel has served travellers since around 1730 and is still in operation as a motel.
  • Ian S. has a photograph of the Duke William Commercial Hotel on Geo-graph, taken in 2012.
  • The names associated with the Duke William in directories are:
Year  Person
1842 Ann SNOWDEN
1872 Eli West KELSEY
1882 Jno. Brewitt TAYLOR. auctionr.
1900 William FOSTER
1913 Mrs. Georgiana FOSTER
1930 Jas. H. WILSON
  • On the Twelfth Day (January 6th), the villagers used to play a game called "Throwing the Hood."
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of The Haxey Hood on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
  • There is a detailed History of Haxey provided by the Isle of Axholme FHS.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK768999 (Lat/Lon: 53.490204, -0.843925), Haxey which are provided by:

Military History

Haxey was the 1881 residence of Army Captain William Henry EMERSON, of the 63rd Regt, born in London in 1822. He had a much younger wife, Sarah, born in Epworth in 1855.

David HITCHBORNE has a photograph of the Roll of Honour in the church on Geo-graph, taken in 2004.

Alan MURRAY-RUST has a photograph of the War Memorial in Low street on Geo-graph, taken in 2011.

Military Records

For a photograph of the Haxey Roll of Honour and a list of the names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Haxey is from the Old Scandinavian Hakr+eg, meaning "island of Hakr." In the 1086 Domesday Book it is rendered as Acheseia.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place is an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Manley Wapentake in the Gainsborough district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • In March, 1885, this Civil Parish gained the Kelsey Closes from Epworth Civil Parish.
  • In March, 1886, this Civil Parish gained the Turbary area from West Butterick Civil Parish.
  • In April, 1936, this Civil Parish gained 333 acres from Owston Ferry Civil Parish.
  • In the 1972 government redistricting, this parish became part of the Boothferry District, which is now in the County of Humberside (formerly Lindsey, Lincolnshire).
  • For today's district governance, see the North Lincolnshire Council website.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Epworth petty session hearings every other Thursday.
  • In 1723, Jane FARMERY built almshouses for seven poor women of the parish. The Midsummer charity was established to give £8 yearly toward the maintenance of the houses.
  • According to Anne Cole, "the only Settlement Certificate documents for Haxey are a list of people who came (into the parish) by certificate in the back of an Overseers' Account Book. The earliest is 1699."
  • About 3,341 acres of common land was enlosed here in 1795.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, this parish became part of the Gainsborough Poorlaw Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 1,541
1831 1,868
1841 2,071
1851 2,129
1861 2,157
1871 2,213
1881 1,982
1891 1,855
1901 2,044
1911 2,035
2001 4,359

Schools

  • A Free School was first established here in 1654.
  • A new school was erected here in 1861 to seat up to 150 students.
  • A National School (for boys) was built here in 1873 to seat up to 60 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.

Societies