We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Helpringham

Cemeteries

  • In March, 1872, a new burial ground was formed, covering over 2 acres. It lies east of the village on Hale Road and was under the control of the Parish Council.

Census

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 619
1851 H.O. 107 / 2101
1861 R.G. 9 / 2346
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353
1881 R.G. 11 / 3326
1891 R.G. 12 / 2581

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Helpringham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Andrew.
  • The church appears to be of Norman origin, but the date of construction is uncertain.
  • The church spire was damaged by lightening in May, 1854.
  • The interior of the church was restored in 1873.
  • There is a photograph of the Anglican parish church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • John BLAKESTON has a photograph of the entrance to the church at Geo-graph.
  • Here is a photo of St. Andrew's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Andrew's Church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1559, but are not on deposit, apparently, although entries exist in the IGI from 1561 through 1843.
  • We have a handful of marriages in our Parish Register Extract text file.
  • The London Family History Centre has the parish register for 1559 - 1955 on microfilm for hire.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms from 1559 to 1812 and Marriages from 1569 to 1812.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Primitive Methodists built a chapel here in 1840. The Baptists had one earlier than that. The Independents built a chapel in 1846. For information and assistance in researching this church, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was reassigned to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Helpringham is a parish with a village of the same name. The parish is on the road between Spalding and Sleaford, about 5 miles southeast of Sleaford. Swaton parish lies to the south and Little Hale parish to the north. The parish covers almost 3,100 acres. A portion of the parish is Fenland, but that is now drained and fertile.

A book called "Lincolnshire Railway Stations" by Eric Croft (ISBN 0-946225-77-0) shows a picture of Helpringham station in 1907. At that time, the Great East and Great Northern railways ran trains by the village.

The village lies between the A17 and A52 trunk roads about six miles southeast of Sleaford. The Car Dyke passes just to the east of the village. Thorpe Latimer is a hamlet in the parish, about a mile south of Helpringham village. If you are planning a visit:

  • See our touring page for more sources.
  • Find out what's going on in the village with a look at their Newsletter.
  • There are photographs taken around the village at Pictures of England.
  • Here is a photo of the village taken in 2008 from the church tower, by Jill Blain (who retains the copyright):

Helpringham village

You can see pictures of Helpringham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Helpringham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • See The Helpringham Hotels and Inns page on Rootsweb to see if any of your relatives are listed.

Manors

  • Helpringham Manor dates back to the 14th century, but was rebuilt in the 17th century and is now a Grade II Heritage building. The stone-built farmhouse was built in 1705 and a small cottage added in the early 19th century.
  • You can find more about preservation issues and a few fine photographs at "Lincolnshire Heritage" web site.
  • During World War 2, the Army occupied the farmhouse and used the grounds for a small prisoner-of-war camp.

Maps

  • See our "Maps" page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF130400 (Lat/Lon: 52.945475, -0.319729), Helpringham which are provided by:

Military History

  • Richard CROFT has a fine photograph of the War Memorial at Geo-graph.

Military Records

  • John EMERSON provides the names from the Helpringham War Memorial. Some of these are hard to read on the memorial, so your corrections will be appreciated.

Names, Geographical

  • The name derives from the Old English Helpric+inga+ham or homestead of a man called Helpric," and is listed in the 1086 Domesday Book as Helperincham.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1773.
  • An unknown donor left the rent from a rood of land for distribution to the poor.
  • After the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 518
1831 750
1841 764
1851 829
1861 912
1871 911
1881 941
1891 758
1901 767
1911 732
1921 733

Schools

  • A School Board was formed in 1876, and a school and master's house erected in 1877-78. The school could hold 150 students.
  • You can visit Helpringham Primary School web site, but there is no school history posted there, nor any old student records.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.