Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Holland Fen

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Holland Fen

Bibliography

  • Betty BRAMMER, "Holland Fen with Brothertoft - A parish history", Publ: Holland Fen Council, 2001, ISBN not known. The book won a prize from the Boston Preservation Trust.

Cemeteries

  • All Saints, North Forty Foot Bank, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Swineshead sub-district of the Boston Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Holland Fen area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church is in Fosdyke Fen, close to the North Forty Foot Drain, and was built in 1812 by Act of Parliament as a chapel of ease to Fosdyke parish.
  • The church seats about 240.
  • Saint John the Baptist church, in Algarkirk Fen, was consecrated in 1867 as a chapel of ease to All Saints Church.
  • St. John the Baptist church seats about 300.
  • There is a photograph of All Saints Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under "Yet More Lincolnshire".
  • Here is a photograph of All Saints Church supplied by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1812.
  • The parish registers at the Lincoln Archives start with baptisms and burials from 1813 and marriages from 1839.
  • The Anglican parish register for St. John's Church dates from 1864.
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Holland West Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The church is often listed as being in the North Holland rural Deanery.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Swineshead sub-district of the Boston Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Holland Fen is south of the River Witham and of Brothertoft parish and due west of Boston. The parish covered 22,000 acres of formerly unwholesome swamp that had been drained and plowed by 1767.

If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A1121 trunk road west out of Boston. It passes just south of Brothertoft and 9 miles north-west of Boston.
  • Check our Touring page for additional resources.
You can see pictures of Holland Fen which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Holland Fen has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF230490 (Lat/Lon: 53.024141, -0.167564), Holland Fen which are provided by:

Military Records

John EMERSON provides a list of Killed in Action in World War I.

Politics and Government

  • In 1767, large parts of this fen were drained and divided up between the eleven surrounding parishes. In 1861 many of these extra-parocial plots or parishes were constituted as parishes in their own right.
  • The parish was in the ancient Kirton Wapentake in the Borough of Boston in the parts of Holland.
  • In 1880, Amber Hill, a 30-acre gravel field and extra-parochial area, was formed as a new civil parish. It had been part of this parish's ecclesiastical area. See Amber Hill parish page for more information.
  • You may contact the local Parish Councilregarding civic or political matters but they are NOT staffed nor funded to do family hisotry lookups for you.
  • For today's district governance, visit the local Boston Borough Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases wouold be heard in the North Holland petty sessional hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act reforms, this parish became part of the Boston Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1831 241
1891 562
1911 891
2001 652

Schools

  • A School Board was formed in Jan., 1879, forming the North-East Holland Fen United district. It covered the areas of Brothertoft, Ferry Corner Plot, Fosdyke, Harts Ground, North Forty Foot Bank, Pelham's Lands & Swineshead.
  • The South-West Holland Fen United district formed in May, 1880. It covered the areas of Algarkirk Fen, Amberhill, Dogdyke & Sutterton Fen.
  • Hedgehog Bridge School was built in 1880 to hold up to 85 children.
  • Barley Sheaf School was built in 1882 to hold up to 80 children.
  • Amberhill Board School was built in 1882 to hold up to 134 children.
  • See our Schools page for more information on researching school records.